586,094 active members*
3,991 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fagor Automation > Fagor Communicate with laptop or anything!

Fagor Communicate with laptop or anything!

I have a Motionmaster 4 axis router with a 8040 control. When I first got it in 03 one of my epole built a cable and linked it into an old laptop with a serial to USB adapter. It worked for several years, then when I got a new Toshiba he somehow switched it over to work on the Toshiba, again severall years of troublefree service.

Now the Toshiba died and is off for a few weeks, the original laptop is long gone, and we can't get either of two avauilable Lenovo laptops to communicate with the 8040 on the same cable usiong the same WinDNC software as always used. What might we be missing?

Also- is there any back door way to get a file into the controller- we pulled the 20mb card and it externally appears to be a PCMIA card and fits into a laptop slot but then it's contents can't be read or worked with. We have two jobs already piled up in front of the router and it could take hours to hand type the 100 line programs in.

The old 8040's unfortunately do not have a USB port, but the new 8055's do.... so you're stuck running RS 232 in this case. You shouldn't have any problems with DNC, but before diagnosing any further, go to www.fagorautomation.com to the Download Center..... you will find DNC software there, download it..... you want to run the latest and greatest version that now even works with the latest MS software.....

If it doesn't work after that, then we can talk..... its something simple, also make sure you go into the set-up section in DNC and set it up for a 8040 (M) control..... otherwise it will not work.

Todd

Todd- Thanks for your calm confident reply, I was afraid is was something unconquerable.