586,106 active members*
3,177 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792

    Learning G10: please help

    I am trying to learn the use of G10. Please confirm if my interpretation of the following codes is correct:

    G90 G10 L10 P10 R-500; (Enters -500 mm into offset number 10, as the geometry compensation value for H-code)

    G91 G10 L10 P10 R5; (Enters 5 mm incrementally into offset number 10, as the geometry compensation value for H-code, making the tool length smaller by 5 mm. So, the same tool would dig 5 mm more into the workpiece, for the same program)

    G91 G10 L11 P10 R0.5; (Enters 0.5 mm incrementally into offset number 10, as the wear compensation value for H-code. So, the wear value would increase by 0.5 mm, and hence, the same tool would dig 0.5 mm more into the workpiece, for the same program)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Sinha,
    That is correct. The only thing I cannot confirm is if you have the proper “L” for the registry. I don’t have any of my data with me. Speaking of that does anyone have a master list or a spreadsheet with the “L” meaning of each registry? I always have to look it up in the book and IIRC they are not all the same per control.

    Stevo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    Thanks for the reply. You are always helpful.
    As per 0i manuals,
    L2 is for work offsets,
    L20 is for additional work offsets (on milling machines only),
    L10 is for H-geometry,
    L11 is for H-wear,
    L12 is for D-geometry,
    L13 is for D-wear,
    No L is used for lathe compensation values,
    L50 is for parameter entry, and
    L3 is for tool life data entry.
    L1 can be used in place of L11.

    Other control versions may use different L values. For example, I have heard that 180i uses L52 for parameter entry.

    However, for offset and compensation data, there is not enough reason to use G10 (because one has to remember its syntax). I would prefer to use system variables. Of course, for parameter entry and tool life data entry, through a program, G10 is the only method.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Your always welcom Sinha.

    Thanks for the feedback on the "L" designation.

    Stevo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    174
    Sinha, all your code looks good.
    Maybe not the point of your post, probably just me being picky.

    The meaning of this one
    .....
    G91 G10 L11 P10 R0.5; (Enters 0.5 mm incrementally into offset number 10, as the wear compensation value for H-code. So, the wear value would increase by 0.5 mm, and hence, the same tool would dig 0.5 mm more into the workpiece, for the same program)
    .......

    This would increase the wear comp by 0.5mm and so make your tool longer (or bigger dia if used for D value). So it would dig 0.5mm less, into the workpiece.

    e.g. need to leave more material on, then comp+
    need to take more material off, then comp-

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    Thanks for your comments.
    Actually, I was more interested in verifying if my interpretation was correct.
    Since, I do not have 0i M control, I can only rely on you people.

    Are other interpretations OK?
    How about this (I am repeating):

    G91 G10 L10 P10 R5; (Enters 5 mm incrementally into offset number 10, as the geometry compensation value for H-code, making the tool length smaller by 5 mm. So, the same tool would dig 5 mm more into the workpiece, for the same program)

    Wiil the tool dig more or less?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    H10 = -255.000
    G43 Z0 H10 moves tool down 255mm.

    execute G91 G10 L10 P10 R5

    H10 is now - 250.00
    G43 Z0 H10 moves tool down 250mm.

    This is assuming your control interprets R5 as 5mm, not .005mm

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    Thanks.
    So, in my previous post, more should be replaced by less, if we are using G43.
    Correct?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    684

    G10 Applications

    Hi,

    Sorry for butting in, have recently discovered G10 myself and I use it in programs to reload my previous work offsets.

    Noted that there are L-codes that relate to tool offsets - is there also a way (not necessarily G10) to load other tool information via the program, ie the tool type/tool description info, which can then be displayed in 'Current Machining'?

    DP

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792
    As far as I know, there is no way a message can be displayed while the machining is being done. It is, however, possible to use system variable #3006 which will halt (but not terminate) the execution and display user-specified message (up to 26 characters) on MESSAGE screen. You have to press CYCLE START again to continue further machining. Details of #3006 are given below:

    System variable #3006
    System variable #3000 generates an alarm condition and terminates the program execution, whereas variable #3006 causes temporary pause of execution which can be restarted by pressing the CYCLE START button again. In the paused state, pressing the MESSAGE key displays the user-specified message (up to 26 characters). Assigning a number to variable #3006 halts the program execution. There is no significance of this number, as message number is not displayed. So, normally, 1 is assigned. Example:
    #3006 = 1 (CHECK THE DIAMETER);
    This would temporarily stop the execution, and display “CHECK THE DIAMETER” on the message screen. If no message is typed, nothing would be displayed.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    684

    G10 and Tool Data

    Hi again,

    Wasn't refering to a message on screen this time.. Was hoping there was a G10 L* and R* command that could load other Tool data such as the tool's shape/orientation for use with the graphic simulation (rather than inputting it directly into tool table). Bizarre request, I know, but there it is.

    DP

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    Christian,

    Unless I'm way off base, you must be using Manual Guide-i. You should be able to input and output Tool Data to the memory card.

    In EDIT mode, display the tool data screen.
    Insert a memory card in the slot.
    Using the < or > soft keys, until you see soft keys for OUTPUT and INPUT
    Press OUTPUT. You should see a window titled "OUTPUT TOOL DATA TO MEMORY CARD"
    Enter an 8 digit filename with a .dat extension.
    Press OUTPUT.

    I believe when you INPUT tool data, it clears out the existing tool data.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    684

    Tool Data

    Hi, thanks for response,

    As previously stated, the way I am working means that my tool numbers will alter every time I set up a particular operation. The reason I need to explore the G10 possibilities is because I can then substitute the Tool Number (P) with a variable. I may have overcomplicated the issue...

    DP

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    2932
    No, you didn't overcomplicate the issue, I just couldn't find a way (after searching the PDF manuals) to load the tool data with G10. You CAN, however, load the tool data for each setup from the memory card.

    You may also be able to do it at the start of a program with the embedded macros, i.e. G1932 D1.0 H2.0 defines a 2" long 1" diameter end mill.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    I agree with Dave that you should be able to just download from a memory card. Now you can change the data with the G10 but you won’t be able to change the “description” of the tool. If you don’t have the manual for the proper format in which you can load this data with the tool description then you could manually type in a tool description and the data then punch it out of the control to a card and look at the format so you know how to write it to the card before uploading it.

    If your tool data is changing after every operation then you will have to load the program and data before every operation.

    I am not up with the exact syntax of the 31i control but this should work.

    Stevo

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    684
    Well, would you believe it...

    Seems that the facility to alter the tool data using custom macro does indeed exist, have attached the relevent literature just in case anyone out there is insane enough to want to do it this way also...

    Many thanks to viorel26 and gbowne1 for the pdfs!

    Having toyed with the feature I have to say it's not super quick - try to update more than a couple of tools in succession and it gets very confused. I've tried putting in buffers and G4s and such to slow it down, but to no avail. I'll have to settle for each tool in the magazine being individually updated at the tool call, but at least the simulation side of things should now be a doddle.

    DP
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 01.JPG   02.JPG   03.JPG   04.JPG  


  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    2

    Re: Learning G10: please help

    G10 L3 tool life setting program send me

Similar Threads

  1. Learning about CAM
    By blackout1985 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 07:47 PM
  2. Learning CNC
    By clayman in forum MetalWork Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 09:21 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-12-2011, 04:59 PM
  4. Learning!
    By cncadmin in forum EnRoute
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 12:54 AM
  5. Learning...Need help with PSU
    By h3ndrix in forum CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-24-2007, 11:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •