586,116 active members*
3,469 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > Newbie Pacer Driver needs help

Smile Newbie Pacer Driver needs help

Hi Guys, first the apology if I have posted in the wrong place, never seen a community so large or so many forums, and apologies for the thread length.

Now the problem:

I am an engineer (conventional) and fairly computer literate. I needed to cut out repetitive small non-intricate parts from plastic sheet and it was getting tedious by hand/bandsaw/template router/linisher etc. I got hold of a good condition Pacer cadet as I needed an industrial strength/stability machine and it was the only one that would fit in the wshop. Its a Pacer 600 and runs XMC-E on an antiquated (but amazingly quick) W95 machine that has no networking and only a floppy and CD drive.

It came complete but no documentation and I am a complete newbie to the black art of cnc. After a short but very steep learning curve, and replacing the bearings on the z stepper motor, I am cutting my parts OK but now I can see the potential I want to do MORE!! Now the problems start!

On the software side I am having to draw components on my other computer using Autosketch (a great cut-down Autocad) and export the file as DXF and burn to disk. Walk back to the workshop and open the file, import it into a program called CASWIN/CASMATE as a DXF which converts it to a .SVC file, then export it as a Pacer .PCR file then open the Pacer software and import the (currently) 2D file, add all the tool/material info, process, queue, run and then save as a Pacer .VMC file....... PHEW what a ridiculously long winded way!! Surely there must be a quicker way to get a .dwg or a .dxf file into Pacer?