502,104 active members
8,026 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    40

    No reset after fault?

    Will the Pico Gecko Interface card let you fault a step/direction servo drive in EMC2 and still keep the Zero positions? It looks like you could stall out a drive and still get back to the Zero positions without indicating again. This is huge for me if it works that way. Am I reading this right?

    I have Larkin Viper 200 step/direction drives instead of Gecko's but it looks like I can substitute them for the Gecko's without any problems.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by greeder88 View Post
    Will the Pico Gecko Interface card let you fault a step/direction servo drive in EMC2 and still keep the Zero positions? It looks like you could stall out a drive and still get back to the Zero positions without indicating again. This is huge for me if it works that way. Am I reading this right?
    Yes, that is exactly the idea. Since the encoders are fed back to the computer through the
    Universal Stepper Controller, the computer knows the position even when the Gecko drives are
    turned off. This does also require the Pico Systems Stepper Controller board.
    I have Larkin Viper 200 step/direction drives instead of Gecko's but it looks like I can substitute them for the Gecko's without any problems.
    Well, I don't know about the Larken drives. The fault detect, reset and encoder connections were all designed around the Gecko 320 drive, and I don't know if the Larken works exactly the same way.
    Looking at their docs, it might be close enough to the way the Gecko 320 Err/Res pin works that it will work, possibly with a resistor or diode between the Larken drive and our Gecko interface.

    Jon

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 02:42 AM
  2. reset button
    By kevinl in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-04-2009, 02:17 PM
  3. reset axis
    By vasv123 in forum Fadal
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 08:48 AM
  4. reset zero
    By jrick in forum Commercial CNC Wood Routers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-13-2007, 11:54 PM
  5. VMC-966 (reset) )=
    By novydcute in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 08:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •