586,113 active members*
3,638 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Thread milling, can anyone help

Thread milling, can anyone help

Hi guys
    new to CNC zone
    But I am hoping you guys will help me

I have been running (setting, operating, programming) a CNC mill for just under a year
    The controller is a A2100 which I think is a really cool conversational programming type.

I have had no problems up to now with tapping holes generally being M25 or under which the machine handles well

However I have a job that requires a 75mm dia hole with a 1.5mm pitch thread 40 mm deep.

Thread milling seams to be the answer, apparently! but I do not have any real access to CNC machining experience as I am a project engineer working for an electronics company and this is our only machine and I am the only one with any prevoius "metal cutting experience"

I think I should be using a bore cycle with the speed and feed set to cut 1.5mm pitch or possibly a helical milling cycle But it is the tooling that is my problem

I have been told that you can get thread milling cutters with indexable carbide tips.

Question: can anyone give me the manufacturer (Kennmetal, Hertel etc) and part number of a thread milling cutter

I am from Great Britain so I will not have access to American suppliers

I would also be greatful for any tips and strategies that I could use to do this job, i.e depth of cut, feeds speeds, tool retraction, orientating the tool etc

Please help I am a little out my depth here !!!

regards
    jtrav

Thread mills.....

Try Greenfield or SCT(scientific cutting tool)
    Both make decent thread mills

threadmills

i don't know about in gb but advent makes good indexable threadmills, and they will even give you the g-code for the threadmill you/re using. i prefer writing my own because i can get cleaner code than they give me but it helps.
    their address is http://www.advent-threadmill.com