586,635 active members*
3,306 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Hobbycnc (Products) > complete newbie with q's about hobby cnc order

complete newbie with q's about hobby cnc order

Hello, I am a complete newbie. I am looking to order the cnc kit from hobbycnc.com I'm torn between which set of steppers to get. I"m thinking that they 127oz ones will be enough but for only 30 dollar difference now would it be worth the 200 oz ones. What differences do you think i'll see. As for the application, I"m looking to mill pbc and mdf maybe once in a blue moon aluminium (quite possibly not). Most likely i'll start with a simple wooden frame later could move up to something more precise, using the simple machine to help build the better one. probably use simple threaded rod from homedepo. If anyone has any input please do feel free to share, i'm still feeling my way through this and any help would be great. One other question was about the 8020 aluminium, how cost effective is it? Any other brands that are cheeper, 8020 seems expensive. THanks in advance.
    -Ryan

for the extra $30 i would buy the 200ozin stepper motors. second depending on what your doing 6061 aluminum is more standard and more readily available than 8020. its probably cheaper too

I can't eally recommend HobbyCNC due to there poor support. Before you rush in and purchase, i suggest to check out other suppliers.

...just my 2 cents.

I'm also thinking of buying the hobbycnc kit. Also a newbie to the DIY CNC thing. (although, I've thought about it for years)

My question is: Other than the obvious, what's the difference between the 3-axis and 4-axis boards?