586,094 active members*
3,993 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 11 123

newbie diy router build.

Hay guys!

this is my first post over here. i am in the early research stages, planning to build my own cnc. i am pretty excited about it. this is something i have always wanted to do. i am looking for all the help and knowledge i can get.

a little about me. i have some precision machining experience. (strong arm mill, lathe, turret lathe.) as well as some cad experience. i have been working with tools and computers all my life (i build computers as a hobby). i have been a tradesman for about a decade now. going to school for engineering. i am a certified electronic technician.

here is the basic plan i have cobbled together so far.

i was looking at a gantry type system. ( i am wondering why the metal working guys use more of a moving bed system?)

i originally was planning on building the structure using extrusions from 80/20. but the cost seems a little prohibitive. i have found some surplus stuff on e bay, and that may help bring the cost down a little. i would still REALLY like to build it this way, so if anybody has any other sources for parts or a place where i can get this kind of stuff cheap; please let me know.

here was the original design for the bed frame.

after i decided that the cost was probably too high for me with the 80/20 stuff. i re designed the cnc using mdf as the main structure.

keep in mind this is still a very early rough design.

the top layer of the bed is semi-transparent so that you can see the torsion box design inside. this is to keep the bed flat and sturdy.

the idea