587,473 active members*
3,453 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

101 Router Design

Hello All,

This is my first post here and I would like to start by saying this place and the people here are awesome. You guy's are so helpful and knowledgeable. I have been reading for a while and finally worked up enough guts to post without feeling stupid.

I am a mechanical engineer with experience in manual and CNC machining. I have been working on a design for a while and have enough to post some images from the CAD software I am using. My intention here is to develop an entry level machine, with good accuracy, and easy to build with minimal skill and tools. A electrical engineer buddy of mine is working on the motor controller for this design. We plan on releasing this design as an open source one once it is more complete. Here is what we have so far.

[

Here are the specs I am designing for:
    14" x 9" x 3" Range of Motion
    +/-0.003" Accuracy
    Fixed Gantry
    $300-$400 Price Range (Including Motors and Controller)
    PC Controller
    Dremel or Small Router Spindle
    MDF Frame
    Rollerblade Bearings
    NEMA 23 Motors
    5/16" Allthread leadscrews
    3/4" Drill Rod Rails

I know there is more but it is late so I will post them as I think of them. The purpose of this post is to solicit feedback on the design. You guy's have a tremendous amount of expierience and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Diamus

You're y-axis adjustment blocks are the inside of the table. Might be easier to adjust them if they were on the outside.

Y Axis Adjustment Blocks

Yes I need to add that to my todo list. Originally I had been trying to use less drill rod and this gave me 1.25" of extra travel without using any more rod, due to the thickness of the MDF I wasn't having to pass thru. I have since economized on rod elsewhere and need to lengthen the rod and move the adjustment blocks.