587,238 active members*
3,873 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > 1st Router Design constructive criticisim please

1st Router Design constructive criticisim please

OK I've been lurking around the forums for a while and I think I've only posted a couple of times but this is my first attempt to start a project of my own. I've had this router design floating around in my head for months and I keep putting things on paper then changing the design. I've actually started over 2 different times because I didn't like the size of the foot print the machine would have, compared to it's cutting area. My machine is aprox 4ft by 2ft cutting area. I've been working on drawing this current design for about 3 weeks now and I'm happy with the way it's turned out so far. It's not completly done as you can see it's missing steppers and the spindle but you can see the basic design of the machine and thats all I'm really worried about. Please give me your opinions on the design.

Rails: 16mm rails / 2 bearings per rail / 4 rails on X axis / 2 rails on Y axis / 2 rails on Z axis. (I guess that depends on how you look at X and Y)
    Lead screws: 5/8 Ball screw / 2 nuts per screw to help reduce backlash
    Spindle: My own design because I'm not planing on using a router
    (Not modeled yet thats why it's not in the pictures)
    Held together like most 8020 builds: Nuts and Bolts

I use Rhino for my 3d modeling and I really enjoy it but there are things I've forgotten about how to do. Like being able to change the colors of different objects in rendered view.