528,041 active members*
3,444 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    77

    230v servo on 120v ?

    Hello!

    How would you normally drive a 220v servo in the USA?
    240v is absolute max on the servo so 2x120v would not be adviced and most transformers seem to be 120 to 240v.
    Is there also 120 to 220v transformer? link?

    Whats the normal voltage in the US, is it 120v?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11431

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeeybee View Post
    Hello!

    How would you normally drive a 220v servo in the USA?
    240v is absolute max on the servo so 2x120v would not be adviced and most transformers seem to be 120 to 240v.
    Is there also 120 to 220v transformer? link?

    Whats the normal voltage in the US, is it 120v?

    Thanks.
    Normal single phase in NA is 120v / 240v, you have a choice of what you can use , most servos will be fine at plus 20% if you correctly wire the drive with the a reactor and power filter there should be not problems with the over voltage
    Mactec54

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23452

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    You never size the power supply to the exact plate voltage of the servo, any overcurrent or other limits are taken care of by the drive.
    IOW, there is a controller between the motor and supply.
    As a rule it is over-current that can damage a motor not over voltage, within reason.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    77

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Ok, on the drive it says 220v -15% +10%
    So max for the drive should be 242v and according to wikipedia the US can have a fluctuation of the voltage of about 6% which would be max 254.4v.
    If it was only for me I would have tried it but as I´m sending it from Sweden to a customer in the US I´m a bit more careful

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11431

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeeybee View Post
    Ok, on the drive it says 220v -15% +10%
    So max for the drive should be 242v and according to wikipedia the US can have a fluctuation of the voltage of about 6% which would be max 254.4v.
    If it was only for me I would have tried it but as I´m sending it from Sweden to a customer in the US I´m a bit more careful
    Then get a drive that says 240v or even 230v they have them 220v is a Chinese labeling thing

    I have only ever seen 245v max in NA I doubt that it would ever get to 254v range that would not be good for most things
    Mactec54

  6. #6
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23452

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeeybee View Post
    Ok, on the drive it says 220v -15% +10%
    So max for the drive should be 242v and according to wikipedia the US can have a fluctuation of the voltage of about 6% which would be max 254.4v.
    If it was only for me I would have tried it but as I´m sending it from Sweden to a customer in the US I´m a bit more careful
    If this is a commercial sale etc, and you are concerned about selling to the N.A. market, you could do some definitive tests on a product before shipping, such as a maximum estimated Supply limit test using a Variac to take the voltage up to the estimated limit. l.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    77

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Ok thanks, its hard to make long term stress tests though.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11431

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeeybee View Post
    Ok thanks, its hard to make long term stress tests though.

    The other way to protect yourself is to offer a max Voltage, say it is 220v / 230v and the end user would have to use a Buck Transformer so it did not go above your max voltage Buck Transformers are not expensive for low amp application's

    Buck / Boost Transformers are use when doing small changes in voltage supply: 5%, 6.6%, 10%, 13.3%, 20%, and 26.6%
    Mactec54

  9. #9

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeeybee View Post
    Hello!

    How would you normally drive a 220v servo in the USA?
    240v is absolute max on the servo so 2x120v would not be adviced and most transformers seem to be 120 to 240v.
    Is there also 120 to 220v transformer? link?

    Whats the normal voltage in the US, is it 120v?

    Thanks.
    Is it 220V/single phase or 220V/3phase?
    240V is fine for the 220V driver because there is tolerance, just choose the same phase is okay.
    http://cncmakers.com/cnc/controllers/CNC_Controller_System/CNC_Retrofit_Package.html

  10. #10
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23452

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Typically the 1 phase voltage in N.A. is now 120/240v
    Rarely seen is 220v 3ph, 208 3ph is more common.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  11. #11

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    I've spent several decades developing PSUs and VFDs and we always designed for 240 +10% ie 264V. The +10% is required (by UL, CSA etc) on top of the declared sticker voltage. And you wouldn't expect it to blow up at 265V - there are voltage transients to design for, caused by the effects of lightning strikes, fuse blowing spikes etc, which require some additional design margin above 264V.

    The supply here in the UK is typically 240-250V these days and it doesn't cause a problem. I lived in Canada for 5 years and my UK stuff was fine on the 240V there. You shouldn't have a issue.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11431

    Re: 230v servo on 120v ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Muzzer View Post
    I've spent several decades developing PSUs and VFDs and we always designed for 240 +10% ie 264V. The +10% is required (by UL, CSA etc) on top of the declared sticker voltage. And you wouldn't expect it to blow up at 265V - there are voltage transients to design for, caused by the effects of lightning strikes, fuse blowing spikes etc, which require some additional design margin above 264V.

    The supply here in the UK is typically 240-250V these days and it doesn't cause a problem. I lived in Canada for 5 years and my UK stuff was fine on the 240V there. You shouldn't have a issue.
    This is not what the problem is his servo drives are rated for 220v which is normal from China, and wants to find a way to run them safely on 240v / 245v Plus
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. 1 phase 230v to VFD 3 phase 230V?
    By dukei in forum Phase Converters
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-04-2018, 09:21 PM
  2. Using a 230V VFD with 120V
    By ravix in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2017, 08:22 PM
  3. LS iC5 230V 1.5kW Inverter
    By neurofen in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-03-2014, 07:03 PM
  4. where can I buy 120V servo motors?
    By BiggerHammer in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-16-2010, 03:37 AM
  5. Yet another 120v to 220v
    By Konstantin in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2006, 08:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •