545,538 active members*
2,048 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    1

    2Ghz CPU Required?

    I have an older laptop with a 1.75GHz cpu that I'd like to use to drive a Smoothstepper with Mach4. Anyone running a pc with a cpu less than the recommended 2GHz frequency?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1210

    Re: 2Ghz CPU Required?

    Hi,
    my machine PC is a dual core Atom single-board PC with on chip graphics. It runs at 1.86MHz. It runs Mach4 just fine.
    My little PC is well below the recommended (NFS) minimum but I've been using it for six years without problem.

    The only time I notice the lack of grunt is when or if I load a large Gcode file, say 5MB or more. Then the toolpath loads slowly,
    say a minute or more and can take another minute or so to draw the toolpath. Once the toolpath is drawn there are no problems at all.

    I would say just about any PC will work just fine.

    Craig

Similar Threads

  1. 99% cpu use
    By JohnF in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-28-2011, 11:29 PM
  2. BMC 30 CPU
    By koonyam in forum HURCO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 04:39 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 03:10 AM
  4. cpu speed
    By jc286006 in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 02:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •