587,404 active members*
3,315 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: 90000 rpm

90000 rpm

I need the 90000 rpm but my motor turn only 30000 rpm.

Can i use belt-pulley system for this purpose?

I am by no means an expert, but my guess would be no. To run at 90000rpm your pulleys are going to have to be nearly perfectly balanced and belts probably wont hold up in those conditions. I may be wrong, but I have never seen a spindle run anywhere close to that range with belts. As I said, I am no expert, and this is just my $.02. Good Luck!

Just because you "need" 90K, that doesn't mean that is is wise or viable to run at 90K RPM.

Before you go balancing pulleys and crafting up belts and pulleys to spin at 90K, you'd better go thru the ENTIRE spindle that you plan to run at 90K and see if the bearings are even rated for 90K.

Then, just because they might at the ragged edge of viability of their design window at or approaching 90K, that doesn't mean that the ones you have will be suitable to run at 90K.

High speed bearings usually have special internal provisions to make them high speed capable. THings like special cages, special tolerances, special lubes and so on and so forth are quite the norm for such high speed use. Such spindles are also usually assembled with much closer tolerances. Simply put, what might live for decates at 10k can fail almost immediately at 90K.

What you want to do is NOT technically as simple as running overdrive pulleys and flicking a switch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by NC Cams View Post
    Just because you "need" 90K, that doesn't mean that is is wise or viable to run at 90K RPM.

Before you go balancing pulleys and crafting up belts and pulleys to spin at 90K, you'd better go thru the ENTIRE spindle that you plan to run at 90K and see if the bearings are even rated for 90K.