588,138 active members*
8,876 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

A Newbie's View

Hi,

I subscribed to this site a couple days ago and have been looking at various posts.
    My aim is to build a cnc table for my plasma cutter, however I'm totally new to cnc. I understand the very basics of cnc (ie design a part using CAD, export to suitable software for controlling the machine, and using a magic box, it works the machine).
    As a newbie, what I'm interested in, is each step in designing a suitable machine. From the various posts and sites I've looked at, the design process goes something like -

1 - design +build the table/machine mechanics
    2 - size + add suitable motors/servos
    3 - add suitable motor controllers
    4 - install suitable software to control motors

Having read the discussions in the opensource forum about making plans for a beginner, here's my thoughts.

What I'd really like as a newbie, is something that explains each step in turn, and shows different ways of doing it (ie, for the movement - using linear slides, bearings running on bar......), and the pros + cons of each item.

Personally I'm not interested in a complete set of plans, as from past experience, this normally leads to difficulties in locating parts, and things can get complicated when you have to start modifying plans to suit what materials you have at hand. What I'd really like is a source that I could refer to when designing my own machine.

Currently I'm at the stage of skectching plans for the mechanics of the machine, and was planning on posting them to the plasma discussion forum, to see what thoughts they have about my proposed plans. But if everybody designing a machine was to do this, then the forum would become even worse for any newbies like me who come along later, and are starting from scratch.