587,173 active members*
3,885 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Taig Mills / Lathes > A problem with my taig mill? Or with me?

A problem with my taig mill? Or with me?

Hi,

I have a 2019 Taig ER16 mill that I CNC'ed with a Xylotex Stepper/Driver kit. I am, by trade, a CAD Technician. Other than what I have recently (last three months, on the weekends) learned I don't know anything about CNC or Machining in general. So, I need some help.

I am working on making a part that has several rounded vertical surfaces. Like a square with rounded corners and cylindrical protrusions. I have noticed that my mill is making a flat edge on a round cylinder. The last part I made has a .35" Dia. cylinder toward each end of it, which are 2.75" (in the X) apart. The one cylinder is coming out with a flat spot while the other seems to be coming out fine. I am using Gsimple for my G-code and it is using G3 codes to cut the cylindrical profiles. What could be going wrong? Is it me or is something not right with my mill?

I have attached some pics of the cad files of two parts that I made that had this problem.

Thanks for the help,

Frank
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails D_4 upper.JPG   D_3 upper.JPG  

not sure exactly but sounds like a software issue to me

DJH

Do you mean software as in the controller software? I use EMC2.

more likley the Gcode generation i would have thought.

Basically something is telling the machine to do what it is doing

DJH