541,109 active members*
3,564 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132

    Absolute position changing...

    Hi all

    I'm working on a vertical grinder with a 15T control.
    I noticed that when I hit reset an no matter where is the X axis position,
    the absolute position on the screen change to a number that is related to variable number 500 (used with G92 after the dressing cycle).

    Is there a parameter that can be changed to avoid this
    because I'm building a macro and if that position change all the time ,
    it's big trouble.


    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    104
    When you run a program, the absolute position given is referenced to the wcs set in the program; g54, g55, etc, and remains modal. Once RESET is pressed, the program stops and all modal commands are cleared and the program is rewound to the beginning. The value you now see for axis position is machine position. There is a parameter that can be changed that will disable clearing of the modals, however this change will also not stop the spindle, will not stop the coolant, will not default the control to rapid traverse, among many other things.

    Off topic but still related, why would you need to press reset during program execution? Furthermore, any good macro will work off of machine position NOT program position and will have safeguards built in to avoid damage to the part and machine in the event of program interruption. Meaning no disrespect, it sounds as though you may be in a little over your head with macro creation if you are overlooking such simple fundamentals.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Thanks for the reply, I understand your point, I'll go with an exemple:

    It's a vertical grinder and the diamand (roller is to the left of the table. I use the original macro of the machine for dressing, the wheel will
    position to the intersection of the roller, get dressed, come back to
    intersection and then a G92 X#500 and Z#501 is programmed so the relative and absolute position is the same. Let's say X-15.000 and Z 10.00.

    If a move manually the X axis to X-3.000 (exemple), the absolute and relative still have the same value (-3.000). So when I'm finished with editing, I hit reset, it's a reflex, just to be sure the cursor goes back to the beginning of the programand and ready to go.
    By doing this, the X will change, but I would like it not to change,
    I need the absolute position to work, not machine for what I have to do.


    Sorry for my english

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    767
    Do you have a switch or button on your panel called "ABS", or "Manual Absolute?" It may also be a bit on one of the SETTING screens.

    ABS is an input signal that determines whether the control stays in absolute (moving the absolute position registers) when you're in manual mode (Jog, for example). If ABS is turned off, then when you move the machine in jog, the absolute position is shifted by the amount you jog. If it's on, then the machine keeps its absolute position.

    I would recommend keeping ABS turned on at all times. In fact, I would even hard-wire the switch. This signal causes a lot of crashes. It dates back to the times when an operator might want to shift the program zero (the G92 point) manually to make corrections. Rather than jogging in a coordinate system shift, it's much safer to edit your G92 block.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Thanks Dan, no button, no switch, as you said, propably a bit on one of the SETTING screens, but can't find that bit. Any web site that can show all the parameter for a 15T ?

    Thanks guys

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    767
    Sorry, but I didn't realize that this was a 15T. The lathe controls (T) usually don't have an ABS switch like the M models.

    I don't have a 15T manual, but I seem to recall that there is a parameter that determines if RESET changes the position display. Maybe someone else on the forum has a 15T maintenance manual and can help.

    You said that you're using G92 to set the position, which should set the absolute registers. A tool offset can be (optionally) cancelled with RESET, but I don't think that you're talking about a tool offset being cancelled here. On a T control, the tool offset is invoked with the tool change T-code, and it will show on the absolute display. When you hit RESET, if the offset is cancelled, you would see that shift. If you're jogging the machine BEFORE a tool offset is invoked, then you should see no shift when you press RESET.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan fritz View Post
    If you're jogging the machine BEFORE a tool offset is invoked, then you should see no shift when you press RESET.
    That's what I want.

    You're right Dan, it's not a tool offset being cancelled, and G92 is made in the macro that came with the machine, and we do not edit these macro for safety.

    And if someone has some clue on the parameter to change, It would be appreciate.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    767
    In another post way back in 2006, someone said that the Faunc 11T did have a "manual absolute" input in the "Settings/Op panel" menu. The 11T is very similar to the 15T. That's still my best hunch.

    See:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/fanuc/...n_problem.html

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Did saw this post yesterday, and also check in SETTING PAGE, but
    nothing about absolute position.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Tancuda,
    I have the 15series manual but I am having problems here at home trying to access my I-DOCS data on my new computer to try and see if there is a parameter setting for this. I will look tomorrow when I get to work and try and post what I find.

    Stevo

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    So nice of you Stevo1

    thanks

  12. #12
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Attached is the parameter I think that you may be looking for. I am not 100% though.

    Parameter 2202.1 (DSE). I was also looking for parameters pertaining to the reset button and did not see anything that looked like it would change it except for maybe 2401.7 (NCM). This is more for clearing the modal information.

    Hope this helps.

    Stevo
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Thanks a lot Stevo,

    I'll try it, but I'm in vacation for two weeks so, I'll give you some feedback
    a soon as I can.

    Thanks

  14. #14
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    Let us know.

    Stevo

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    150
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fritz View Post
    In another post way back in 2006, someone said that the Faunc 11T did have a "manual absolute" input in the "Settings/Op panel" menu. The 11T is very similar to the 15T. That's still my best hunch.

    See:
    http://www.cnczone.com/forums/fanuc/...n_problem.html
    Thanks alot Dan Fritz for this tip! This actually fixed my simular problem on my 10M control. I find it strange that everything else on that Setting screen could be "Off" and still work (like dryrun etc.) but this helped me to not loose position (workoffset) when jog / move in handle etc.
    Kitamura Mycenter 1 -83 with Fanuc 3M-C and Mycenter 1B -85 with 10M control.
    Yes, they are old..... but i still like them!

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by stevo1 View Post
    Attached is the parameter I think that you may be looking for. I am not 100% though.

    Parameter 2202.1 (DSE). I was also looking for parameters pertaining to the reset button and did not see anything that looked like it would change it except for maybe 2401.7 (NCM). This is more for clearing the modal information.

    Hope this helps.

    Stevo
    Did try parameter 2202.1 today, but same thing, the absolute position shift when I hit reset.
    I'll keep searching...

    thanks

  17. #17
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1511
    I need to refresh myself a bit with this problem.

    Now you say that it is not a tool offset that is being activated to change the absolute to what you want to see and keep when reset is pressed. Something has to be changing the absolute position. Are you using the G54-G59 coordinates? Typically on the Fanucs when reset is pushed it defaults back to G54. So if you are using G55 in your program then the absolute position is being based off of that and then defaults to G54 when reset is pushed, hence changing your absolute position.

    Stevo

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Hi Stevo1,

    no, I'm not using any G54-G59 coordinates, and no tool offset.
    On the program check screen, there's some code, I think these are modal
    code, it's G00 G18 G22 G40 G90 G94, do you know the purpose of G22 ?

    Excuse my english !

    Thanks

    Pat

  19. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    239

    Smile

    Dear All,
    please Do not Confuse
    Here is a List May be Useful for all of you
    G00 Positioning (rapid traverse)
    G01 Linear interpolation (cutting feed)
    G02 Circular interpolation CW or helical interpolation CW
    G03Circular interpolation CCW or helical interpolation CCW
    G04 Dwell, Exact stop
    G05.1 AI advanced preview control / AI contour control
    G05.4 HRV3 on/off
    G07.1 (G107) Cylindrical interpolation
    G09 Exact stop
    G10 Programmable data input
    G11Programmable data input mode cancel
    G15 Polar coordinates command cancel
    G17Polar coordinates command
    G17 XpYp plane selection
    G18 ZpXp plane selection
    G19YpZp plane selection
    Xp: X axis or its parallel axis
    Yp: Y axis or its parallel axis
    Zp: Z axis or its parallel axis
    G20 Input in inch
    G21Input in mm
    G22 Stored stroke check function on
    G23Stored stroke check function off
    G27 Reference position return check
    G28 Automatic return to reference position
    G29 Movement from reference position
    G30 2nd, 3rd and 4th reference position return
    G31Skip function
    G33 01 Threading
    G37 Automatic tool length measurement
    G39Cutter compensation : corner circular interpolation
    G40 Cutter compensation : cancel
    G41 Cutter compensation : left
    G42Cutter compensation : right
    G40.1 Normal direction control cancel mode
    G41.1 Normal direction control on : left
    G42.1Normal direction control on : right
    G43 Tool length compensation +
    G44Tool length compensation -
    G45 Tool offset : increase
    G46 Tool offset : decrease
    G47 Tool offset : double increase
    G48Tool offset : double decrease
    G49 08 Tool length compensation cancel
    G50 Scaling cancel
    G51Scaling
    G50.1 Programmable
    G52 Local coordinate system setting
    G53Machine coordinate system setting
    G54 Workpiece coordinate system 1 selection
    G54.1 Additional workpiece coordinate system selection
    G55 Workpiece coordinate system 2 selection
    G56 Workpiece coordinate system 3 selection
    G57 Workpiece coordinate system 4 selection
    G58 Workpiece coordinate system 5 selection
    G59Workpiece coordinate system 6 selection
    G60 Single direction positioning
    G61 Exact stop mode
    G62 Automatic corner override
    G63 Tapping mode
    G64Cutting mode
    G65Macro call
    G66 Macro modal call
    G67Macro modal call cancel
    G68 Coordinate system rotation mode on
    G69Coordinate system rotation mode off
    G73 Peck drilling cycle
    G74Left-handed tapping cycle
    G75 01 Plunge grinding cycle (for grinding machine)
    G76 09 Fine boring cycle
    G77 Plunge direct sizing/grinding cycle (for grinding machine)
    G78 Continuous-feed surface grinding cycle (for grinding machine)
    G79Intermittent-feed surface grinding cycle (for grinding machine)
    G80 Canned cycle cancel
    Electronic gear box : synchronization cancellation
    G80.4 Electronic gear box : synchronization cancellation
    G81.4Electronic gear box : synchronization start
    G81Drilling cycle or spot boring cycle
    Electronic gear box : synchronization start
    G82 Drilling cycle or counter boring cycle
    G83 Peck drilling cycle
    G84 Tapping cycle
    G84.2 Rigid tapping cycle (FS10/11 format)
    G84.3 Left-handed rigid tapping cycle (FS10/11 format)
    G85 Boring cycle
    G86 Boring cycle
    G87 Back boring cycle
    G88 Boring cycle
    G89Boring cycle
    G90 Absolute programming
    G91Incremental programming
    G91.1 Checking the maximum incremental amount specified
    G92 Setting for workpiece coordinate system or clamp at maximum spindle speed
    G92.1Workpiece coordinate system preset
    G93 Inverse time feed
    G94 Feed per minute
    G95Feed per revolution

    If you need anything More Info please feel free to Communicate me on prabhatmishra@gmx.com

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    132
    Thanks for that list "yours_prabhat",

    so G22 is "Stored stroke check function on",
    and I have absolutely no idea what this means !!

    Any of you ??

    Thanks a lot

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Inhibit Origin of Absolute position
    By DrDave1958 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2013, 01:15 PM
  2. Absolute position getting reset
    By L. Sakthivel in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2011, 06:54 AM
  3. Fanuc 11M Absolute position probs
    By trotsky in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 08:29 PM
  4. Offsets: Changing between absolute and incremental
    By MotorCityMinion in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 05:57 PM
  5. Absolute position PROBLEM
    By Darkos in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-18-2006, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •