588,210 active members*
4,085 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Absolutely and totally new to CNC

Hi Folks
    PLS bare with me when you see my request. oh no no not one of them again, I'm totally new to cnczone, and I know even less about cnc machines, but I don't mind challenges.

Anybody here on the cnczone which have mercy with me, and could try to guide me though the universe of cnc's. Just, where do I have to start??? mainly with; drawing software
    ?
    ?
    ?
    ?
    Stepper motor
    what are between drawing soft ware and stepper motor.

Not to make the challenges to big. I have though to start to build a 10 axis machine, or maybe a 3 axis.

I have a EBMPAPST-ECI 60.75 932 6075 001 51/05 MOTOR, any who know that motor, and if it suitable

Br

Valther

10 axis?!?!? I didnt think there was even such a thing. I would recommend a 3-axis mechine for most applications. The process is normally as follows:
    1) 3D rendering (solidworks, rhino, etc.)
    2) Tool path/g-code (Bob,mesh, cut3D etc.)
    3) CNC controller (mach3)
    4) CNC stepper controller
    5) Cut

Hi gtrplaya101

Thank for your answer, but I still need some more information just have a slight clue about where I have to start to end right.

I have an electrically background, been working in the heavy metal industry(marine elevators) for years, and I have been doing bowling allies too, and my hobby is wood working, so I think I would be able to make the cnc table my self, but I have a gab in the computer/software world.

Are you able to guide my to some suitable links, so I can get started right, my budget have a certain limit.

Valther

Unless you already have some of the software, its prb gonna cost you more then the actual mechine. Seat for 3d modeling is about ~$250 to ~$300, toolpath creator >$200 and Mach 3 is $160. So not to discourage you anything but your looking at about $600 in software to start with. Heres some links:
    Mach3:
    http://www.machsupport.com/