531,637 active members*
3,895 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    1

    Question Accuracy issues after upgrading CMP 3020 to Mach3

    Hello everyone!

    I have upgraded an old CMP 3020 CNC to work well with Mach3. I have removed the original electronics and leaved the power supply, stepper motors and chasis. Replaced the spindle into a 500W DC controlable motor.

    To drive the stepper motors I selected TB6600 stepper motor driver, like this:
    https://core-electronics.com.au/tb66...or-driver.html

    For bob I selected a Mach3 compatible usb 100KHz controller like this:
    https://www.buildyourcnc.com/item/el...ach3-USB-Board

    I put together everything, did the wiring and all axis seemed to work fine. And I could cut out some simple stuffs.

    But when I measured the dimensions I got very bad results. I read some topics on the forum. In lot of users sugested calibration of the steps per/mm unit for other user problems. But I do not have an offset error. For shorter distances the error is bigger as bigger distances. For example around ~80mm dimension the error is ~1% but for dimension of 4-10mm it is between 3-10% which is very big. Now I think I can do milling with +-0.9mm precision which is very bad. See the attached measurements.

    Regarding the steps per/mm unit I run the calculation and based on my mechanic it must be 400 steps/mm.

    Currently I am using microstepping of 8. For first try it was 32 but I lowered to expect improvement but nothing happenend...

    What can be the issue?
    If the mounting of the spindle has +- some degree error can it introduce issue like this?
    Or I have not replaced the syncronous belts on the stepper drives. If they streched can it be an issue?

    I think steps are not missed beccause when it runs multiple times on the same path then it does not go off.

    Thanks in addvance!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11651

    Re: Accuracy issues after upgrading CMP 3020 to Mach3

    Quote Originally Posted by rob_bits View Post
    Hello everyone!

    I have upgraded an old CMP 3020 CNC to work well with Mach3. I have removed the original electronics and leaved the power supply, stepper motors and chasis. Replaced the spindle into a 500W DC controlable motor.

    To drive the stepper motors I selected TB6600 stepper motor driver, like this:
    https://core-electronics.com.au/tb66...or-driver.html

    For bob I selected a Mach3 compatible usb 100KHz controller like this:
    https://www.buildyourcnc.com/item/el...ach3-USB-Board

    I put together everything, did the wiring and all axis seemed to work fine. And I could cut out some simple stuffs.

    But when I measured the dimensions I got very bad results. I read some topics on the forum. In lot of users sugested calibration of the steps per/mm unit for other user problems. But I do not have an offset error. For shorter distances the error is bigger as bigger distances. For example around ~80mm dimension the error is ~1% but for dimension of 4-10mm it is between 3-10% which is very big. Now I think I can do milling with +-0.9mm precision which is very bad. See the attached measurements.

    Regarding the steps per/mm unit I run the calculation and based on my mechanic it must be 400 steps/mm.

    Currently I am using microstepping of 8. For first try it was 32 but I lowered to expect improvement but nothing happenend...

    What can be the issue?
    If the mounting of the spindle has +- some degree error can it introduce issue like this?
    Or I have not replaced the syncronous belts on the stepper drives. If they streched can it be an issue?

    I think steps are not missed beccause when it runs multiple times on the same path then it does not go off.

    Thanks in addvance!
    The only way to see if your steps /per are correct is to run the Mach3 axis calibration, you can never guarantee that a calculation of the steps / per are correct

    So in Mach3 Settings page above the ReSet button you will be able to calibrate each axis
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Steps Per Axis Calibration.PNG  
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Machine Accuracy Issues PRO4824 Mach3
    By pete1961 in forum CNC Router Parts
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 08-16-2016, 06:42 AM
  2. Upgrading a 3020 chinese milling machine to 6040
    By redou in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-08-2015, 04:31 PM
  3. VMC 3020 issues
    By fixtureguy in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-20-2013, 03:42 PM
  4. Accuracy Issues with Warthog and Mach3
    By Ed3XP in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 12-17-2011, 10:56 PM
  5. Taig/Mach3 issues with accuracy
    By diamondback21 in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 11:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •