588,061 active members*
5,272 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

ACME Leadscrew question

I am new to CNC and have been lurking around for 2 or three months just taking everything in and deciding what type of machine to build. I have already ordered the HobbyCNC 305 kit. I am wanting to order the ACME lead screws for the machine but there are many different materials that they come in. For example:

Taken from McMaster-Carr (6 foot length)

Type 316 stainless steel $ 93.87
    Zinc-Plated $ 26.55
    Grade B7 Alloy $ 38.40
    18-8 Stainless Steel $ 59.55
    Plain Steel $ 11.48

The Type 316 is way out of my budget, but the others are doable.

What is the most cost effective solution for a home built CNC?
    Thanks for checking out my question, this is a great place for CNC info.

this is what i used:

http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INSRIT?P...&PARTPG=INLMK3

1/2"-10tpi 6ft $6.99

I'm with Heritage... I bought 4 of those carbon steel screws from Enco and at half price you can't go wrong. Excellent accuracy and practically no backlash. An excellent value. Save your money and buy the $6.99 Acme.

Welcome to CNCzone, whmeade10.

Pick whichever one fits into your price range. I'd go with a tighter tolerance ACME lead screw over a 'pretty' looking one if your going to spend any extra money. If your CNC table is going to be constructed from wood or plastic I'd just buy the cheapest one and be done with it. The cheap plain steel one is working fine for me.

I concur with HeritageAmps and txcowdog, I too purchased my lead screws from ENCO and have no regrets concerning the performance or the price. Spend the money you saved on the ACME screws to purchase lead nuts from DumpsterCNC. In my opinion they're hard to beat.

Whatever you do, stay away from the plated lead screws. If the plating starts to come off (and it will) you're going to start having all kinds of problems with wear and backlash.

Good luck with your build,
    HayTay