588,626 active members*
5,827 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Advantage of a 3 axis CNC Milling machine

Advantage of a 3 axis CNC Milling machine

Hi,

Can anyone tell me what are the advantages and disadvantages of a 3 , 4 and 5 axis cnc milling machines.I have no experience working with cnc machines.

Can someone help me?

Regards,
    george.

Advantages

Hey Joey,

Try and use a hacksaw instead!

The Slickster

advantage..they are better than a one or two axis.
    disadvantage...you gotta take the time to learn how to use them.

They don't take tea breaks holidays and in my case they can cut circles and don't get confused.
    Keith

Quote Originally Posted by george_kj View Post
    Hi,

Can anyone tell me what are the advantages and disadvantages of a 3 , 4 and 5 axis cnc milling machines.I have no experience working with cnc machines.

Can someone help me?

Regards,
    george.
    George,

with a 3 axis machine, the machine can move on 3 perpendicular axis'. This is good for about 90% of milling work you will encounter. A forth axis would be adding a rotary table to your 3 axis machine. This will enable you to cut gears, mill flats and keyways to round shafts or create some sort of spiral dohickey to put on your desk as a paper weight. A five axis machine will enable you to create very smooth flowing organic shapes. You could create a turbine for instance.