587,316 active members*
3,452 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Advise for Milling Steel with the X3

Advise for Milling Steel with the X3

I just got the Grizzly X3. I'm pretty new to milling in general was trying to cut a piece of steel.

When either climb milling or conventional milling with a 1/2 inch 2 flute HSS cutter at about 800 rpm, I am getting vibration that I don't like. The electronics cover on the column vibrates and just makes a lot of noise. I'm not sure of my feed rate, but if I go slower or faster it doesn't seem to make much difference. The axis all feel tight and I don't notice backlash but that may still be the issue. I just don't know. The chips are coming off hot and blue, and after checking my tool it feels duller. I don't have any coolant, mostly because I'm concerned that it will have an odor that will stink up my house, and I worry about the effectivness of a enclosure when I am handmilling.

I'm looking for setup advise or what I should be looking for / expecting when milling on steel.

Thanks

Your spindle speed is too fast. Try something closer to 400 rpm using a cutter that big on plain carbon steel.

You should pick up a copy of Machinery's Handbook to use as a reference for speeds and feeds (among other things).

-Nate

fort, Try a 4 flute for steel. It will cut a lot smoother. 2 flute end mills are normally used on softer metals like aluminum.
    Steve

Sounds like you have it running a bit fast; ideally you want your chips to be a straw color, or a little lighter. If they are blue, you are running too fast and burning up your tools...