587,348 active members*
4,966 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Amazing Automation Aventure! (in the uk)
Page 1 of 4 123

Amazing Automation Aventure! (in the uk)

Hello CNCZoners, I’m very new to all this and though my project is more automation than CNC, stepper motors and other hardware will need to be numerically controlled, so I’m sure this community can assist me in that regard.

I am looking to control a number of stepper motors, some numerically controlled valves and a numerically controlled air decompresser from a PC running linuxCNC, which I have been assured can do the job.

Unfortunately I’m not 100% clear on what the logistics will be to deliver my coded commands to the mechanical hardware and where to find such hardware in the first place.

In short, where can I find:

- A numerically controlled air decompresser (vacuum pump),
    - Some numerically controlled valves (preferably either cheap or easy maintenance),
    - Some stepper motors (general purpose),
    - Whatever controllers, drivers or boards I might need to connect it all to a PC?

All in the UK preferably, though I don’t mind ordering overseas through Ebay and the like.

I realise this is perhaps outside the purview of a CNC forum, but I had hoped that there might be those among you with varied enough interests to shed some light on it, or at least point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance answerers!

I have never heard of an "air decompresser" can you give me more detail, is this a vacuum pump?

Oh, sorry, an air pump that can suck the air out of a vacuum chamber. Isn't that decompression? I might have used the wrong name; I'll edit the original post.

pumps, valves, steppers

Zookes,