534,851 active members*
2,776 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Tormach Slant Lathe > Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    I just would like to try a bit more than 60 IPM, maybe 65 or 70 IPM

    Can't find how to change that in the .ini file

    Look like an easy thing to do on the mill but with the lathe can't find where to insert these mods.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, Jeff

  2. #2

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    C&P from another post.

    I got a 2.4.2 announcement email earlier this morning.

    From the email:

    NEW KEY FUNCTIONALITY:
    • Slant PRO rapids are increased from 60 IPM to 100 IPM
    Not sure if you want that much of a change, but comparing the two might give you an idea on what to change to get your desired results.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    111

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    If you are running v2.4.2 or later you can issue the command ADMIN RAPIDS SHOW and it will display the current settings, ADMIN RAPIDS SET xxx to set the new speed. I am pretty sure you can select from 60 to 120. No need to modify any .ini files.

    I have been running 120 in/min since it came out in beta and have not had any issues.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    I will update Pathpilot and try this.

    Thanks, everybody

  5. #5

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Let me know how it works out for you. I still haven't updated.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Quote Originally Posted by number40Fan View Post
    Let me know how it works out for you. I still haven't updated.
    Work great so far,

    I tried many way to enter what as been said "ADMIN RAPIDS SHOW" but got an error each time. Spaces, no space, underscore between each words

    But the 100 IPM is cool

  7. #7

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Finally updated mine today. She's a little screamer now! I'm going to need to hone in my reaction times to let off the shift key when moving the tool around to set zeros.

    Now, if we could just speed up the turret.

    I'm half tempted to edit all of the g-codes to remove the coolant and spindle off commands. The tool is now sitting there waiting for both before anything happens.

  8. #8

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    I couldn't sleep without trying it.

    I have a program that runs like clock work. From hitting cycle start to the first tool coming back around and setting Z0 position after part is complete, has always been 5:04.

    With just the update, it dropped to 4:56.

    Edited all coolant and spindle off commands to stay on and time dropped to 4:47.

    Eh...1/4 of a minute per piece. 1 "free" part per 20 made. Better than nothing!

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Quote Originally Posted by number40Fan View Post



    1 "free" part per 20 made. Better than nothing!
    Socialist

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    645

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    I've contacted Tormach about how to go faster than 100 IPM and they won't help.

  11. #11

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Oooo....just noticed the backlash settings. I might have to play with that a bit.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1998

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    I posted this in another thread after looking at the lathe code posted by sprutcam

    Quick question for mike or other readers.
    The post looks like it uses g96 command in a way that would make machine start with a slow surface speed because the tool is changed at max x travel. Then as tool rapids into lead in position the spindle would want to spin up to match the rapid move!

    Is this how pp conversational works?
    Or Is this how other machines and posts work?

    if so would this not put un needed stress on spindle motor trying to change and keep up?
    Looks like machine should stay in rpm mode g97 until rapid move is over and it starts normal tool lead in. then switch to g96 and continue.
    Is this correct or am I missing something?
    Any help would be great

    After more research
    CNC Programming handbook details this to be the correct code format using the g97 then switch to g96 and continue.
    this would speed things up a bit imho!

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1998

    Re: Anyone tried to modify .ini file for higher than 60 IPM

    Quote Originally Posted by mountaindew View Post
    I posted this in another thread after looking at the lathe code posted by sprutcam

    Quick question for mike or other readers.
    The post looks like it uses g96 command in a way that would make machine start with a slow surface speed because the tool is changed at max x travel. Then as tool rapids into lead in position the spindle would want to spin up to match the rapid move!

    Is this how pp conversational works?
    Or Is this how other machines and posts work?

    if so would this not put un needed stress on spindle motor trying to change and keep up?
    Looks like machine should stay in rpm mode g97 until rapid move is over and it starts normal tool lead in. then switch to g96 and continue.
    Is this correct or am I missing something?
    Any help would be great

    After more research
    CNC Programming handbook details this to be the correct code format using the g97 then switch to g96 and continue.
    this would speed things up a bit imho!
    This does not effect these machines much from what I can tell at this point. Most the long fast moves are along z axis. Im guessing this is detailed in cnc programming handbook because some machines with big hp power and power demands would stress if this is not addressed.

Similar Threads

  1. Is there a way to modify an .stl file in V25?
    By mmc005 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-11-2015, 01:04 AM
  2. How to use T25 and Higher
    By ggundrum in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-07-2012, 03:01 PM
  3. Higher Spindle RPM?
    By keen in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-07-2007, 03:59 PM
  4. How to modify HPLG file to compensate for the speed variation of my laser engraver ?
    By g1zmo in forum General Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 04:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •