552,660 active members*
1,641 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Anyone using 203V's with Acorn board from Centroid?
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    4

    Anyone using 203V's with Acorn board from Centroid?

    I have a 4'x4' gantry, 220VAC spindle at 2.2KW with VFD, 4 Gecko 203V's, 60VDC 10 amp drives power, Nema 23 400 oz/in steppers @ 3mh. I have a 10:1 gear reduction for the Z axis. And run the Y with one motor slaved to the other.
    The controller is an Acorn CNC, and I use Vectric Desktop.
    Anyone else have a similar set up?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    940

    Re: Anyone using 203V's with Acorn board from Centroid?

    I tried but blew my geckos out using the Acorn schmetics. I found out you haave to use a breakout board that supplies the corect voltage. Gecko did repair the drivers for free just had to pay for shipping.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14163

    Re: Anyone using 203V's with Acorn board from Centroid?

    Quote Originally Posted by thomasks View Post
    I have a 4'x4' gantry, 220VAC spindle at 2.2KW with VFD, 4 Gecko 203V's, 60VDC 10 amp drives power, Nema 23 400 oz/in steppers @ 3mh. I have a 10:1 gear reduction for the Z axis. And run the Y with one motor slaved to the other.
    The controller is an Acorn CNC, and I use Vectric Desktop.
    Anyone else have a similar set up?
    This would be a standard setup for most people the Acorn only uses 5v/24vDC and they supply you with the power supply,
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    14163

    Re: Anyone using 203V's with Acorn board from Centroid?

    Quote Originally Posted by fixtureman1 View Post
    I tried but blew my geckos out using the Acorn schmetics. I found out you haave to use a breakout board that supplies the corect voltage. Gecko did repair the drivers for free just had to pay for shipping.
    The Acorn supplies the correct voltage you don't need any other Breakout Board
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Centroid Acorn Board Paired W/ a Old MicroProto Systems Driver Box
    By killacamm in forum DeskCNC Controller Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-30-2021, 10:58 PM
  2. Centroid Acorn experiences?
    By steve_p in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 62
    Last Post: 07-15-2020, 12:49 AM
  3. Centroid Acorn on Plasma
    By Nucla in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-2019, 03:04 PM
  4. My Experience with Centroid Acorn
    By SCzEngrgGroup in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 80
    Last Post: 05-04-2018, 02:15 AM
  5. Centroid Acorn interview
    By bgriggs in forum Centroid CNC Control Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2018, 08:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •