547,586 active members*
2,428 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Bad Encoder

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Bad Encoder

    I have a Milltronics Partner 4 Centurion 5 with a bad Z axis encoder. Part# is 152-121-500-18was. Sent it to a company for repair, but it was not repairable. I need info on a replacement, or if someone has one they wouldn't mind parting with. Please let me know. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23767

    Re: Bad Encoder

    This is a separately fitted/coupled encoder I believe.
    There are quite a few manuf. that should provide an equivalent, they are generally easy to sub, also there are a few on Ebay.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: Bad Encoder

    Yes it is a separate part to the servo. When I search that number on ebay there are no exact matches. 152-121-511-11UF what comes up. That part has a plug on the end, mine does not. Not sure if the wiring is the same.

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23767

    Re: Bad Encoder

    The way to sub an encoder to another make is the following:
    Output, e.g. 5v differential, A, /A, B, /B, Z, /Z, pairs, Pulses/rev, shaft dia.
    The output is often printed on the side also reference to M/C prints will give details.
    AFAIK DRC is no longer in business?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: Bad Encoder

    Thank you for the info. I searched previous threads and found a phone number for EPC, encoder products company(800) 366-5412 . They were able to build me a new one rush ordered, hopefully have it Friday. It appears I will have to match up the wires to function as the new one has a different color code. Thank you very much for trying to help me. I appreciate it.

  6. #6
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23767

    Re: Bad Encoder

    I came across an old one in my old stock, I could test it if needed.
    It is a 152-021-500-18UJ
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    9

    Re: Bad Encoder

    Thanks Al for the offer, ordered a new one from EPC. I ordered it Tuesday and had it installed on the Thursday. Now I have a new issue. The y axis servo seems to have gone bad. I switched the Y axis with the X axis servo to see if the problem moved with the servo. Everything seemed to work fine, but was getting smoke out of the y axis motor that was now on the x axis. Need to find a different one or someone who could repair it.

Similar Threads

  1. Bad spindle encoder
    By GITRDUN in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-27-2015, 08:22 PM
  2. Encoder going bad?
    By Captdave in forum Fagor Automation
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-24-2012, 12:56 AM
  3. Bad encoder
    By snow11 in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 01:18 AM
  4. Possible bad encoder on X servo
    By bherr in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 09:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •