587,272 active members*
5,092 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Ballnut?

Hybrid View

Ballnut?

ok, so I'm completely new to metalworking i bought a cnc/mill off a guy a few months ago. everything has gone pretty good so far accept that the x axis had about 20tho of backlash in it. today it went up to 40tho so i ripped the machine apart to find out what was going on. i think i found the problem but i have no idea where or what to order to fix it. here are some pictures i took. any help would be great.
    thanks

the mill is a harbor freight mill i think.

when i pulled the table, this is what i found. is this a ballnut?

it looks like set screws held these together at one time. not anymore...

this is all pulled apart.

these last 2 pictures are all i have to identify the cnc kit.

does anyone know where i can order what i think is the ballnut? should i replace the other while i have it apart? anything else i should replace while its apart? maybe replace the rails that take up the play on the axis?

Re: Ballnut?

No messing about....get a new ball nut and ball screw, rolled will be OK.....a ground type will be too expensive....... otherwise without any mechanical knowledge you'll be chasing your tail trying to work with probably worn out stuff.

It appears from the first photo that the assembly you have is a double ball nut type.....this is OK if you are doing super accurate and heavy milling and need the absolute backlash free capability that double ball nuts are designed to give, but for every day work a single rolled screw with a nut will still last a long time.

Measure the pitch of the screw....( the distance between the grooves from one groove to the next one) and the diam........a 1605 ball screw has a diam of 16mm and a pitch of 5mm, and a 2005.....do the sums etc.