545,739 active members*
2,150 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    67

    Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed

    Was running good and then out of nowhere.....poop.
    Spindle still runs but lost everything on the control panel. Just went dark on me in the middle of a simple program.
    Still running all original equip except have it wired in to my computer.
    It's been running good like this for years.
    I know.....every time I need help I get the retro fit it with updated equipment.

    It's probably one of the boards pooped out but not sure where to start. Any advice (help) on chasing the problem would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
    Dave

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1050

    Re: Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed

    ...do you have any manuals? I would guess start looking at 5V 12V etc....is your machine the R2E4? this manual may help ya
    http://manuals.chudov.com/Bridgeport...nual-Lloyd.pdf

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...do you have any manuals? I would guess start looking at 5V 12V etc....is your machine the R2E4? this manual may help ya
    http://manuals.chudov.com/Bridgeport...nual-Lloyd.pdf
    Thanks for your input. I may have jumped the gun a bit and should have done my homework first before coming here and asking for help.
    After posting the thread I opened up the cabinet and started poking around and looking things over. Just as a check, because everything went dark on the readout and the machine just stopped mid program, I started thinking maybe as simple as a blown fuse? I started pulling the fuses and and found one of them had vibrated loose maybe a full turn. Snugged it up and checked the rest. Did a re-fire and things seem to be back to normal.
    I guess my lucky day!
    The model I have is a Series II Boss 6 rigid ram.
    Thanks again for taking the time to respond.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    12529

    Re: Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...do you have any manuals? I would guess start looking at 5V 12V etc....is your machine the R2E4? this manual may help ya
    http://manuals.chudov.com/Bridgeport...nual-Lloyd.pdf
    His machine is a Boss 6 sometimes other manuals can help but the electrics /electronics are different, where you able to open the link
    Mactec54

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    67

    Re: Boss 6 rigid ram...Help needed

    Thanks for the input.

Similar Threads

  1. series 1 iron, rigid ram vs V ram
    By boss4 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2019, 01:33 PM
  2. Bridgeport boss 5 rigid ram head
    By pyroboby in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2013, 05:47 AM
  3. oiling series 1 rigid ram
    By DrStein99 in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 03:04 AM
  4. Rigid ram head rotation?
    By arsenix in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 10:30 PM
  5. V-RAM vs RIGID RAM
    By jshank in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-01-2008, 02:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •