587,193 active members*
2,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > Breakout Board... what did I buy?

Breakout Board... what did I buy?

Hello,

So I’m new to all this and well I was on eBay and saw what I thought was a Stepper motor diver/controller...
    The board: [http://www.ebay.com/itm/270736984696...t_2647wt_1110] - A4983 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier with Voltage Regulators[/url]
    I thought it would connect to the steppers and my PC via parallel port to it... But noooo it is only a "Brake out board" well it looks cool and looks like it may do allot but I’m not sure what it will actually do for me...
    So why do I need or want this "fancy" one over a standard generic one that just breaks out the parallel port???

Thanks for any explaining of the benefits to having the board that I now have....

P.S. I have order 3 Pololu A4983 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier with Voltage Regulators to connect to the board mentioned above.
    (Pololu - A4983 Stepper Motor Driver Carrier with Voltage Regulators) I’m hoping this will allow me to make my steppers move.

Thanks for the help and info!
    Shane

The terminology can be misleading or confusing. In this case, the term "breakout board" can have two somewhat different meanings depending on context.

The typical CNC meaning of the term "breakout board" is a circuit that takes a 25-pin D subminiature connector input (from the parallel port or 'LPT' output of a PC) and makes each of those 25 pins available at a separate terminal, in order to make it easier to hook up one or more stepper motor driver boards to the parallel port. Such breakout boards may also include extra features such as electronic buffering or optical isolation or relay control circuitry. What this breakout board is breaking out is the pins of the 25-pin D connector.

That type of "breakout board" is not what you have linked to.