588,568 active members*
5,085 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > Bridgeport CNC Series 1 BOSS 4 (5?) Retrofit

Bridgeport CNC Series 1 BOSS 4 (5?) Retrofit

I ended up with a 1979 Bridgeport Series 1 CNC rigid ram in very good mechanical condition that I am looking to retrofit with new controls. I have a lot of experience with small scale machines like sherline to large bench or even specialty machines for robotic control, pick and place, etc. I've done scratch builds of smaller scale CNCs of many types, shapes and sizes but nothing on a BP size.

I would like to get this going to be operated by EMC on linux which I am familiar with and is suitable for the types of projects that this will be used for. I happened to have 3 phase power available where the machine is to be located and the machine is mostly wired for that already (though I want to gut the current electronics cabinet). I don't care about a standalone DRO and I am happy with a dedicated system/screen running EMC.

I've been a longtime lurker and I did a lot of googling but could not find the information I needed, if there is such a thread please feel free to point me there.

I have 3 ametek 99vdc motors that were looking for a project and I think this is the right one. They need encoders though, I was intending to use the E5-500-250-N-S-E-G-2 from US Digital. I was debating either the gecko 320X or is there something else I should be looking at?

My experience is primarily with stepper controlled CNC so I am struggling with some of the aspects of getting the servo control going. I was hoping to get some feedback on questions I have:

*Is there any compelling reason to use different encoders than that? What calculation should I be doing to determine cpr/ppr for this mill?