588,548 active members*
5,440 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Bridgeport Spindle Bearings

OK, I was going to add this to my other question, but thought better of it. My 3 Bridgeport CNCs, Boss 5 and Boss 9 (Ser I), and Boss 6 (Ser II), could all benefit from new spindle bearings. The last time I replaced a set of them, B'port was still in business and it cost a small fortune for a "matched" set of bearings. What are the chances of using standard replacements and getting good results, or do I have to find a source for "matched" sets? If the latter is true, where can I find "matched" sets and at what cost? Thanks. Fred Howe

Yes, they are not cheap, but a google search may get you good results.
    Personally, I do not rebuild the spindles unless a customer is not concerned about holding very tight tolerance. I send mine to C & M precision spindles in Tualatin, Oregon. I have been doing this for about 12 years. For about the cost of the bearings from Hardinge, they will rebuild the spindle, pre-loading it correctly and regrinding the spindle tool holder surface while running in the new bearings to get the runout at close to zero as possible. I cannot do that in the field.
    1-503-691-0955.

George
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks for the suggestion, George. I may give them a try. Fred

I concur with George and add the following:

The OEM bearings were precision matched for tolerance, had a noise inspection call out and also had special size/precision callouts for "matching" and/or selective fitting at OEM build. They are NOT generic versions of the bearing part number that is shown on some of the bearing seals that some people try to use/sell.

You could take a 7207CTYDULP4 (high speed), 7207CTYDUMP4P4 (general purpose) or 7207CTYDUHP4 (heavy milling/grunt work) NSK bearing and replace the OEM bearings with these.