525,809 active members*
3,072 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    0

    Burny 3 controller problems..Help!

    Hello all, newish forum member needs help!

    I have a Hypertherm CNC plasma bed, run by a Burny 3 controller, and using Sheetcam.
    I bought the set up second hand, and saw it working prior to purchase. Now i have it set up, i am having problems!

    When the controller is switched on, it self checks, then displays 'PGM MEMORY ERR' (Presumably ERR means error). Does anyone know where i should start in resolving this? I know its old technology, but is it terminal, or can it be fixed?

    I have a test piece drawn up in solidworks, transfered to Sheetcam, and saved as G code. The controller doesnt seem to want to load the G code, i think the error is stopping the contoller doing anything.
    I'm feeling my way around it a bit, so apologies if i am being daft.

    Hope someone can help. Thanks, Paul

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    0
    Anyone? Please?

  3. #3
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23376
    This could be just a question of Memory reset, It is a long time since I worked on one, it may me quicker to shoot Burny an email.
    Do you have the manual? Also on Burny's there is a secret key to push to access the parameters and set up etc, on some it is under an asterisk, others it was under one of the Logo's.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    0
    Thanks Al, i will have a look tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    0
    Hello
    I'm new here -Ron.
    If this thread is still being viewed I may be able to help. I'm running a Burny 5 and have a manual.
    I'm not positive on this, but I believe the password to access the parameters involves the last 5 digits of the controllers serial number.
    I'll check on Monday if your still having problems.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    0
    Hi Ron,

    Yes, still looking for a solution to sort it out - if you have anyway of helping it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    71
    The password on Burny V was only for the Burny V if I rmember correctly. Accessing the service menu of a Burny was with the hidden button. Its been years since I worked on one of them. The Burny 3 is basically the same as a Burny V internally except for the screen. I will have alook on Monday at work and see if I still have a manual for it.
    One thing you could try is removing the front cover to give you access to the pcbs. The processor pcb has a memory pcb plugged into it. Its about 75mm long by about 50mm wide. It sits inside two plastic runners that locate it so that it plugs incorrectly. Sometimes this connections on it didnt make very well and it caused a few problems. If you unplug this board and give the connectors a clean up with a normal eraser till they are nice a clean and slot it back in again. See what happens after this. I think I also have a box of spare pcbs for the Burny 3 and Burny V somewhere. I will need to dig them out one day.

  8. #8
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23376
    Not sure if it was the 3 but I seem to recall on one it was under an asterisk?
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    0
    Hi Paul
    I checked my burny 5 manual and if you're prompted for a password in the SETUP/CONFIGURATION MENU you can try the the last three digits in reverse order (factory default).
    Here's a part-program in word address I have on my pc. you can compare it to yours to be sure you have the correct syntax:

    %
    N00P0777(PART CONSTRUCT)
    N10M04
    N20G70
    N30G91
    N40G03Y-.75J-.375
    N50X1.35Y1.3575I-.02J1.37
    N60X-1.015Y1.1975I-1.135J.0675
    N70X-.9925Y-.1475I-.1975J-2.0775
    N80Y-2.4075
    N90X.6475
    N100Y.75J.375
    N110M03
    N120X4.1975Y-3.87
    N130M04
    N140X-2.1925
    N150X-2.005Y2.7775
    N160X-.6475
    N170Y-2.1025
    N180X.4525Y-.5I.52J.015
    N190X.42
    N200Y-.185
    N210X-2.6125
    N220Y.185
    N230X.4425
    N240X.425Y.4725I-.08J.5
    N250Y4.635
    N260X-.395Y.575I-.5625J.0375
    N270X-.43
    N280Y.13
    N290X2.8575
    N300G02X1.855Y-1.5325I.145J-1.715
    N310X-1.48Y-1.53I-1.5425J.0125
    N320X1.57Y-2.1725
    N330G03X1.2425Y-.5675I1.0975J.765
    N340Y-.485
    N350M03
    N360M30

    If the controller works to the point where you can load a program perhaps the 'PGM MEMORY ERR' is something that can be ignored.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3
    Hey Paul,

    I'm new to this site too and also have Burny 3 troubles. Have you came close to any solution yet?

    Doug

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2
    PGM MEMORY ERR means corrupted files in the CNC's database. Normally this does screw up loading new files etc.

    Normally you press enter and get a new message saying something in line of "reset memory" or something like that, now you should see "yes" and "no" in the bottom corners of the display, press the +/- softkey till "yes" blinks and press enter.
    Now it resets the memory but the drive settings stay the way they are, you should see some digits going up in value.
    These aren't percentages, just let it run.
    Reset the burny when it's done and it should not display the error anymore

    If it does, locate the battery on the display PCB and replace this.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1

    Re: Burny 3 controller problems..Help!

    Anyone out there know the procedure for calibrating the Burny3, I keep getting an rtn to path error??

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    5

    Re: Burny 3 controller problems..Help!

    Quote Originally Posted by Dust251 View Post
    Anyone out there know the procedure for calibrating the Burny3, I keep getting an rtn to path error??

    Thanks
    Did you ever get answer for this....I am having similar problem. Mine is 2.5. Y axis rail motor came off track (not sure why) Koike Table. Reset gear and reinstalled spring tension that holds motor against rail. X axis not showing movement on display...changed motor sensors from Y to X and X to Y still no display results for X. Manual Jog works with X and Y.

    Any suggestions.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3

    Re: Burny 3 controller problems..Help!

    Hi all.
    I have a Burny 2.5 plus and I noticed the same problem.
    It goes to the switch displaying error path.
    Any solution?

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by trivalb View Post
    Hi all.
    I have a Burny 2.5 plus and I noticed the same problem.
    It goes to the switch displaying error path.
    Any solution?
    Hi, did you get a solution to this? Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Need help extending older Messer table with Burny 2.8Plus controller
    By Tilley in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2014, 08:26 PM
  2. altra burny 10 verson 4 intermittent problems
    By theoperator in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2013, 03:52 PM
  3. Burny 2.5 Plus Controller
    By mark23 in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-18-2012, 12:27 PM
  4. Burny 2.8 controller parts
    By porky118 in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2012, 08:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •