588,217 active members*
4,167 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Buying older/used versions of software/rhinocam - possible? tips?

Buying older/used versions of software/rhinocam - possible? tips?

I have been using an older version of Rhino Cam for a couple years now and need to buy my own. Is it possible to buy these used, dongle and software? If so, is there a best place to look? It would be a stretch for me to shell out the $1K that a new Rhino cam would run me.

Thanks!

You should ask that question to the Mecsoft folks. They would be able to help.

Dan
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Hmm.. I have talked to mecsoft in the past about new software. It seems like asking them this would be like going to a new car dealership to ask them where I could buy a used car. Or no?? I am definitely naive about this (haven't bought machining/CAD/CAM software before) and am just wondering if it is even possible to do this? I imagined someone with old software and a dongle that is out of date to them but perfectly good for me. Maybe this is not possible though?

It is not at all like going to a car lot. You buy a car. Software is bound by licensing agreements. The Mecsoft people can tell you if it's permissible to buy used software and legally license it. Some software, like Rhino, will let you. Others won't. You don't really own it, so they say, so you can't sell it.

Dan
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Thanks Dan!

That answer was more "at my level". I had some sense of the licensing constraints. Sounds like it IS possible to do this with Rhino? Wondering if Mecsoft will have old versions they sell for cheap.

Daniel,