588,518 active members*
8,246 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cabinet Doors

Has anyone got any cabinet doors (raised panels) modeled in alibre pe? If so could I get a copy of one. I am trying to model a kitchen for myself and am having trouble with raised panel construction. I am a bit of a newbie to this software and would simply like to take a look at an example for a stepping stone.

Thanks

Dan
    Check out what I am working on at www.routerbitz.com!

Raised Panel Doors

I have some models but they are on a different computer and I won't be in that shop for quite a while. But I can probably get you started with a couple of quick verbal points. First you need to decide if you want the model to be a 'part' or 'assembly'. The 'part' version is very useful for modeling the look of a kitchen while the 'assembly' version is what you need to actually cut the pieces.

1) For the 'part' version: (a)sketch a triangle that has sides equal to half the door width and height. (b) Extrude that to the thickness of the door. (c) make a closed sketch on the side of the block that shows the cross-section shape of the front side of the stile,rail and panel routing. If the raised panel is recessed relative to the back of the stiles and rails add a rectangle to the front side molding sketch. (d) 'Extrude Cut' the second sketch 'Through All'. (e) Mirror image the trangle about the hypotenuse to get a quarter door, then mirror along a side to get a half door and finally mirror along the other side to get a full door.