587,386 active members*
3,468 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > CNC / Vert Mill research blues: Beating my head against a wall.

CNC / Vert Mill research blues: Beating my head against a wall.

Hey guys, first let me make this clear - I'm new to metalworking, having found my way over here through woodworking - specifically, INCRA woodshop equipment sparking my desire to learn to mill metal. So please bear with yet another fng / stupid newbie asking stupid newbie questions that have probably been answered over and over again.

2nd, I'm going to take some time to explain my situation. I'd like to learn how to mill, with the end goal of learning how to CNC my own designs. I work in the knife industry and have my own products / designs I'd like to make, so I'll be working in 6061, 7075, 440, 154-CM, S30V, 6AL4V, G10 and some other materials. I am not looking to set up a large shop or factory. I do not have access to a huge workshop area. Let me emphasize this: I do not have a huge garage / shop area available. So for you guys who are going to immediately say, "Buy a bridgeport!" I'll respond with "I'd love to, but that isn't in the cards, right now."

My location choices are: the basement of my house (optimal), the warehouse of my work (suboptimal, as I don't want to drive 20mi to tinker with designs), and my garage (worst of all, since there's no room, no place to park my truck if not in the garage, it's unheated, and we have a high break-in and vandalism rate here). Not to mention the commander will unleash her fury on me if it's in the garage.

So, that leads us to 3: what I've done thus far. I've been searching, googling, and reading through this forum for over a week now, collecting more information. I'm now asking for advice, because my meager knowledge is depleted.