587,083 active members*
2,952 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Control Point curves

I know I've already posted it in the Rhino subsection but have now decided it is more relevant in this section.

I am just starting to learn CAD and I need to trace a guitar body perimeter with the best curve continuity possible.

This is what I did and someone said that it doesn't look right

I was tracing a body shape with the freeform> interpolated points curve option on Rhino. However this person suggested I should use control points to form the shape like this:

and that the blue cutaway curve must have at least G1 curvature continuity, preferably G2, with the neck curve

However I find that the control point curve option is too hard to use and I need some advice on this subject

A spline curve in Rhino can be constructed and modified by using either a control point curve or an interpolated points curve (edit points). They both result in a spline curve (nurbs).