587,750 active members*
2,967 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Controller recommendations

Hi, I've been reading, and lurking within the forum for a few month's, and I'm impressed with many people in this forum with their knowledge, and willingness to share. Thank you. Because of this I feel the smartest thing I can do is ask for advice here.
    I currently own, and used a home built mill style machine with an ah-ha 4 axis controller. The travel I have, and need is Y - 30" X - 10" Z - 5," and a rotary 4th axis. I'm interested in building, or buying a high resolution controller.
    I have very little knowledge of controllers, software, and motors. I'm willing to, and want to learn, what ever it takes. I also do have a friend who can help with putting the components together. He's put a few together.
    Finally my question, if you wanted to build your own, have built, or buy a plug a play controller, motors, and software, I would greatly appreciate learning what products you would go with. There are so many different company's, products, as well as types, that it's very confusing to a newbe to make these choices.
    I'm wanting this machine to hold tolerances within .0002/3" The controller and software needs to be able to perform 4th axis (rotary/degrees) wrap type parts, as well as engraving. I guess it might need to be capable of four axis simultaneous movement to do this. Most of the machining I do is very small in size, and holding tolerance is most important, more than speed. Most machining I do is 20 ipm or less. I'm not in a hurry, only quality first. I will be building the mechanical part of the machine myself, and will be very sturdy, but the motors will never be put through high load. The "x" will have the most weight on it, and don't believe it will exceed a 100lbs.
    I do have a budget, but don't want to fall short, I will spend as needed.
    Thank you in advance for anyone's recommendations, on parts, or person to contact.

Dennis