587,108 active members*
4,786 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Countersink Hole

Hello,
    I'm new in this filed and need help.
    I have solid works 2009 and BobCAD V21 with Fagor CNC Mill 8055.
    My question is how can I make countersink as in picture on CNC 8055?
    Thanks

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	37.5 KB 
ID:	82632
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	73 
Size:	44.9 KB 
ID:	82633

I don't know .... this sounds like a trick question ... but have you considered using a countersink bit? If that hole is for a standard screw head it's probably a 82 degree countersink which you can buy at most tool suppliers.

I have a side business manufacturing front panels for electronic enclosures (Protoplates), and after having made many panels for many different customers, and a lot of grief, I'll share with you something that I have learned the hard way: the fastest and most cost effective way to make countersink holes is to drill the through-holes with your CNC, then take the part to a drill press which has a drill stop and make the countersinks manually ... unless of course you are manufacturing something in very large quantities, or something that is a regular production part.

Why? If you're countersinking on a CNC it becomes very critical to mount the material flat and horizontally true, otherwise even a small height variance along the part will affect the resulting size of the countersink holes on the part. Even if you mount your part very flat, the burr created by drilling a hole can lift the part just enough to affect the countersinks. While for most screw heads it doesn't really matter if the hole is a bit too big, your, or your customer's eyes can really pick up on the small changes and if you have more then a few countersinks on a part it doesn't look very professional ... or at least that has been my experience .. not sure if this applies to your application.