587,657 active members*
3,531 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Crane's 25x25 Solsylva Build w/ Pictures
Page 1 of 12 12311

Crane's 25x25 Solsylva Build w/ Pictures

Hi all, I am brand new to CNC, but have been reading alot about it and have been doing some homework for the last few months, and decided to go ahead and take the plunge.

I ordered the plans from Solsylva.com and just started assembly today.

A bit about me, I am a 25, and live with my wife and dog in Boise, ID. I work for a company that specializes in low voltage wiring and fiber optics. Like I said, I am new to CNC, but very familiar with electronics, wood working, shop, and computer aided design (notice I didn't say CAD!) I also like long walks on the beach, yada yada. Ya'll will get to know me, I hope to stick around for a while.

Here is my start:

The way I see it is so far I have the base for my CNC or a very expensive and extremely square cargo pallet.

It took about 4 seconds to decide to ship the base that is shown in the plans. Something about it I don't really like. I will eventually build something to put it on, but for now I just want to get to the good stuff.

I'm not made of money, so budget will probably be the limiting factor on how fast I get this thing built. Sorry if it takes a while, but I promise you, I will get there!

So far thinking about using the HobbyCNC Ez package with the 305oz steppers. Sound like enough? Will also probably start out with the Linux CNC package as I am an Ubuntu nut.

Definitely have a lot of questions, especially when I get to steppers and electronics but my hope here is to have some fun.

God bless!

Nice Mustang and Baja Bug. Ubuntu is awesome. I myself am leaning toward using emc2. I will watch with interest
    Is the voice in my head bothering you?

Welcome Crane,