534,964 active members*
2,617 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1

    Dental 4-axis machine + mach3

    Hello, my colleagues!

    At first: sorry for my non-professional vocabulary. This is the first time when I face this problem and specialists in this field.
    My story in a few words: I am a dentist. We purchased a machine for milling crowns and bridges Wieland 4030 (as I understand built on the basis of ISEL 4030, 4 axis) When we got it, we realized that there was a problem with connecting. After many attempts, we sent to a repair center where it was accepted the decision to replace the old controller and servo drives with new ones. After the upgrade, we got a machine that is fully driven by MACH 3, but now we are in search of a program that can generate for the Mach3 CNC file.

    I install on my computer PowerMill 2017, but I have no idea how to connect it with my CNC.

    As well, I have downloaded the dentist version of PowerMill DentMill (the project had been closed in 2015).

    The main task is to mill crowns and bridges in 4 axes with an auto-change tool(we used 3 milling burs). We simulate crowns in the CAD program, and then we get an STL file. After that, it needs to be milled.
    I attach a photo of the machine to the post.

    I ask your advice in this case. For any information and direction I will be very grateful. You are my last hope. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35279

    Re: Dental 4-axis machine + mach3

    You don't connect Powermill to Mach3.

    You create toolpaths in Powermill, and export g-code.
    You then load the g-code into Mach3 to control the machine.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    You don't connect Powermill to Mach3.

    You create toolpaths in Powermill, and export g-code.
    You then load the g-code into Mach3 to control the machine.
    Gerl, Thank You for the answer.
    Sorry for incorrect description.
    How should i create toolpaths for Mach3 in my case? (coordinates, choose tools).

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4644

    Re: Dental 4-axis machine + mach3

    This would be a good place to start.

    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    3

    Re: Dental 4-axis machine + mach3

    This actually intersests me too. I'm not a dentist, but a student in the field and any machineries catch my interest super fast.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    3

    Re: Dental 4-axis machine + mach3

    I wanted to add a bit to it cause I guess, idk why, I've been just keeping this post in my mind and I see no one answears any further.. I was fortunate enough to have kown some people in order to get inside of dentistries often and one of them had a lot of cool equipment and techonologies and that is how I caught such an interest in the technical part of dentistry. I am working hard now to be able to work with what I like in the future.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The dentistry I was talking about: https://jeffreygrossdds.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3/Kflop - Homing 3 axis machine
    By slimneill in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 02-13-2015, 08:31 PM
  2. MadCam 4-axis, Mach3 & machine crashes??
    By dwneumann in forum MadCAM
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2012, 09:39 PM
  3. Anyone built a dental machine?
    By brian257 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-02-2012, 07:44 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 03:04 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •