544,051 active members*
1,866 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Desperately need parameter of turret encoder
Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22

    Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    We have a fanuc OT controller and I desperately need the parameter for turning off the turret encoder signal !!!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    679

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    What machine type and model do you have?
    why you want to remove the turret encoder signals?
    Tell us more information about your problem,maybe we can help for repair not for remove.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    [QUOTE=zavateandu;2446936]What machine type and model do you have?
    why you want to remove the turret encoder signals?
    Tell us more information about your problem,maybe we can help for repair not for remove.[/QUOTE

    It’s a Leadwell LTC-15 auto lathe with 19 tool stations and a Fanuc OT controller. It started with an intermittent fault coming up saying “1004 MISS INDEX”. Then it came on perminantly. After much investigation we found that the encoder on the turret was failed. The machine send the turret to a named position then the encoder returns a signal back to say it is in the position. A sort of secondary safety measure. The encoder is an NSD Corperaation model HS-04008FAP2. It appears this isn’t the original encoder but must of been replaced at some time in the past. I called Leadwell and they said they don’t do parts for it any more. I contacted NSD they said they don’t make that encoder anymore and it’s replacement would be a different size and would require the fitting of an additional controller unit taking it in to the thousands let alone finding anybody that could install such a thing. I contacted 3 of England’s leading encoder specialists but nobody could help. The encoder is beyond repair. So the only option to get machine running is to switch off the endoderm signal so it doesn’t throw up alarm with after 12 months of research I’ve found is an option that others have gone for.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    [QUOTE=stevenlee;2446940]
    Quote Originally Posted by zavateandu View Post
    What machine type and model do you have?
    why you want to remove the turret encoder signals?
    Tell us more information about your problem,maybe we can help for repair not for remove.[/QUOTE

    It’s a Leadwell LTC-15 auto lathe with 19 tool stations and a Fanuc OT controller. It started with an intermittent fault coming up saying “1004 MISS INDEX”. Then it came on perminantly. After much investigation we found that the encoder on the turret was failed. The machine send the turret to a named position then the encoder returns a signal back to say it is in the position. A sort of secondary safety measure. The encoder is an NSD Corperaation model HS-04008FAP2. It appears this isn’t the original encoder but must of been replaced at some time in the past. I called Leadwell and they said they don’t do parts for it any more. I contacted NSD they said they don’t make that encoder anymore and it’s replacement would be a different size and would require the fitting of an additional controller unit taking it in to the thousands let alone finding anybody that could install such a thing. I contacted 3 of England’s leading encoder specialists but nobody could help. The encoder is beyond repair. So the only option to get machine running is to switch off the endoderm signal so it doesn’t throw up alarm with after 12 months of research I’ve found is an option that others have gone for.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    [QUOTE=stevenlee;2446940]
    Quote Originally Posted by zavateandu View Post
    What machine type and model do you have?
    why you want to remove the turret encoder signals?
    Tell us more information about your problem,maybe we can help for repair not for remove.[/QUOTE

    It’s a Leadwell LTC-15 auto lathe with 19 tool stations and a Fanuc OT controller. It started with an intermittent fault coming up saying “1004 MISS INDEX”. Then it came on perminantly. After much investigation we found that the encoder on the turret was failed. The machine send the turret to a named position then the encoder returns a signal back to say it is in the position. A sort of secondary safety measure. The encoder is an NSD Corperaation model HS-04008FAP2. It appears this isn’t the original encoder but must of been replaced at some time in the past. I called Leadwell and they said they don’t do parts for it any more. I contacted NSD they said they don’t make that encoder anymore and it’s replacement would be a different size and would require the fitting of an additional controller unit taking it in to the thousands let alone finding anybody that could install such a thing. I contacted 3 of England’s leading encoder specialists but nobody could help. The encoder is beyond repair. So the only option to get machine running is to switch off the endoderm signal so it doesn’t throw up alarm with after 12 months of research I’ve found is an option that others have gone for.
    The encoder doesn’t control the turret position the console does that the encoder only confirms its there. It has 10 wires 1 ground, 1 positive 24volt and 8 tool positions. So when in position it sends the 24volt input back down one of the tool position wires. So I’ve learned you can turn off this return signal in the parameters and stop the error message allowing us to run the machine.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    213

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    If you have the Keep relays for this machine it will have an option for no ATC so turing that off will do the trick but only leave you with one tool position
    Southern Ontario Canada is the place to check to get a replacement as alot of machines in that area of this age and many companies to fix components

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    679

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    is the turret Duplomatic?
    try thisClick image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	13.9 KB 
ID:	462210
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails rotary encoder.jpg  

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by lshingleton View Post
    If you have the Keep relays for this machine it will have an option for no ATC so turing that off will do the trick but only leave you with one tool position
    Southern Ontario Canada is the place to check to get a replacement as alot of machines in that area of this age and many companies to fix components
    Diagnostic 423 if I change first zero to one I can switch off encoder and it works but after a few hours machine selected wrong tool and collided.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by zavateandu View Post
    is the turret Duplomatic?
    try thisClick image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	13.9 KB 
ID:	462210
    What do you mean diplomatic ?

  10. #10
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23711

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    Does it look like this?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    679

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    Quote Originally Posted by stevenlee View Post
    What do you mean diplomatic ?
    Duplomatic is the manufacturer of the turret
    try with diagnose 482.5 to see if it is working

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by zavateandu View Post
    Duplomatic is the manufacturer of the turret
    try with diagnose 482.5 to see if it is working
    What do you mean 482.5 ? There are no .5 there is 483 or 482

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Does it look like this?
    Yep but black. It has 10 coloured wires. Think it’s 24v 50hz

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    213

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    Lets talk lathe turrets -----------19 positions on a Lathe ?-----Just asking ----------First when setting an encoder up it has a procedure to follow that has a number one position index that is set through fine tuning physically of the encoder coupling ----------Next is the turret index electrical motor or hydraulic ?--------If the Turret is indexed one position at a time is it ok but fails when more that 3 position are missed while indexing like calling tool one and then tool seven ?--------This is why you need to know hydraulic or not and if a timer is set to give your turret physical time to get there ----------Will be a timer for Turret lift or unlock and rotation and Turret seating or lock -------------Encoders can be checked through x input or G values on the control and read through hexadecimal to confirm position changes for the math required for the turret position --------Just things to check when working on these and installing a new one ---------------Look for a set up procedure for ATC to confirm especially the first position and counter number for correct location

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    679

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    Quote Originally Posted by stevenlee View Post
    What do you mean 482.5 ? There are no .5 there is 483 or 482
    in my manual it says that diagnose 482 bit 5 will make the turret encoder invalid if you put 1 on that bit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	26.8 KB 
ID:	462916
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder diagnose.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	29.8 KB 
ID:	462918

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by zavateandu View Post
    in my manual it says that diagnose 482 bit 5 will make the turret encoder invalid if you put 1 on that bit
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	26.8 KB 
ID:	462916
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rotary encoder diagnose.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	29.8 KB 
ID:	462918
    Managed to turn off encoder signal and machine worked for about an hour running programme and changing tools but then collided. So until solved had to go back to only running one tool station

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    So an update we managed to find the parameter that allows you to turn off the signal from the encoder. After doing so we could change tool stations fine. We ran programme with multiple tool changes for about an hour without problems then it collided. After doing a drilling op it was supposed to part off but never changed tool. So we have had to run it with one tool station only which is killing us and taking 10 times longer to do the job. At least with encoder signal turned off we can manually change tool station and visually confirm it’s position. But we need to replace encoder but can’t find replacement. Leadwell don’t have them. The company that supplied encoder no longer make them or a replacement. I can’t find one online so don’t know what I can do now.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by lshingleton View Post
    Lets talk lathe turrets -----------19 positions on a Lathe ?-----Just asking ----------First when setting an encoder up it has a procedure to follow that has a number one position index that is set through fine tuning physically of the encoder coupling ----------Next is the turret index electrical motor or hydraulic ?--------If the Turret is indexed one position at a time is it ok but fails when more that 3 position are missed while indexing like calling tool one and then tool seven ?--------This is why you need to know hydraulic or not and if a timer is set to give your turret physical time to get there ----------Will be a timer for Turret lift or unlock and rotation and Turret seating or lock -------------Encoders can be checked through x input or G values on the control and read through hexadecimal to confirm position changes for the math required for the turret position --------Just things to check when working on these and installing a new one ---------------Look for a set up procedure for ATC to confirm especially the first position and counter number for correct location

    It’s 10 positions my fat fingers and small keypad

  18. #18
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23711

    Re: Desperately need parameter of turret encoder

    Can you post a pic of the unit?
    Is it made by Tamagawa?
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Can you post a pic of the unit?
    Is it made by Tamagawa?
    The autolathe is made by Leadwell it’s an LTC-15 and the encoder is made by NSD Corporation

Similar Threads

  1. CHNC1 Turret Encoder wiring?
    By K_Labs in forum Hardinge Lathes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2019, 03:20 PM
  2. turret servo/encoder question
    By redman_80us in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-28-2018, 05:25 PM
  3. Okuma Crown turret encoder
    By redmike in forum Okuma
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2012, 02:20 PM
  4. TURRET ENCODER
    By egral in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 08:25 AM
  5. turret encoder
    By Karl_T in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 07:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •