527,808 active members*
2,700 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Gecko Drives > Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1379

    Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    I just updated my system but still using my original G251X drivers that I have used for eleven years.
    Was thinking if I went with the Geck G540 and I am currently using the ESS Smoothstepper would I still need the breakout board?
    The Smoothstepper has multiple input and output ports, I could just get a basic parallel port connector with cable and plug that into the Smoothstepper, or am I not understanding something.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35091

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    If you wire everything through the G540, then no, you don't need a breakout board. But you'd only be using 1 port on the ESS. If you want to use the other ports, then you'd need to add a breakout board.

    Why would you buy a G540, as it would not add any functionality over what you have?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1379

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    Well these drivers are eleven years old, and through my carelessness I wiped out two of the four drivers last year, I sent them to Gecko for repair, one could not be repaired so I bought a new, and I have been plagued with lost steps so I’m afraid possible the other two are still working but maybe have some flaws.
    Thought since I have the new Smoothstepper and new C25S BOB, two new Y axis ball screws, added 2010 screen set and shortly adding all the homing and limit switches to suppler the 2010.
    So the weak link looks to be the drivers, but it may not be but I don’t have any way to test them.
    What do you think Gerry?

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    35091

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    I doubt the drives are causing lost steps. I'd ask Gecko if they think it's even possible.

    The G540 contains the 4 drives you already have, so unless the drives are bad, it won't change anything.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1379

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    Weill Gerry I’m putting all testing on hold right now as things seem to be running at these settings reliably. After this project is doneI’ll continue trying to isolate the lost step problem, as it’s still there it’s just not showing up at these conservative cut parameters.
    Thanks Gerry
    Hager

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    1

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    Hello guys, I just want to know something, I have the ESS do I need a BOB?, I planned to use just the ESS directly to the the drivers and the PC, is this ok?

    thanks

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    467

    Re: Do I need a BOB if you use ESS Smooth stepper and Gecko G540

    Quote Originally Posted by Alemar21 View Post
    Hello guys, I just want to know something, I have the ESS do I need a BOB?, I planned to use just the ESS directly to the the drivers and the PC, is this ok?

    thanks
    No, the ESS precludes the need for a breakout board. The only reason you may want one is if you need more than the four inputs and two outputs on the G540, in which case you will want a BOB as a connector board that goes back to the second port of the ESS.
    Marcus Freimanis
    www.geckodrive.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2019, 08:45 PM
  2. question about smooth stepper and gecko g540
    By energytek in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2018, 06:20 PM
  3. Gecko g540 smooth stepper inputs not responding
    By karlbucholtz in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2017, 09:11 PM
  4. G540 with an Ethernet Smooth Stepper set-up
    By GrandpawB in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2015, 07:42 PM
  5. G540 / Smooth Stepper and an E Stop
    By fragger6662000 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 10:46 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •