587,750 active members*
2,969 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Servo Motors / Drives > don't know servo ratings required for diy mill

don't know servo ratings required for diy mill

hello folks,
    I am building a metal mill for cutting pure steel. Weight will be around 300kg.
    work area is 12x12x12.
    it is having 15mm lm guides, 1 inch dia of ball screws and something to drive them. I have little experience with steppers as i have two of them on my lathe but know nothing about servos. I want to use servos on the mill because there is no place for missing steps. How many watts will be enough for a mini mill. I will not be using very big tools on it. Just 3hp spindle, 2000rpm and not more than 3inch dia of tools (facing tools sometime)
    If i have to go for steppers, i have an eye on the 22 n.m. (3000 oz/in) steppers from ebay. But i don't want loose steps and scrapped parts so i guess servo route is better.

please put some light here.
    with thanks,
    jasminder singh
    It is better to die for something than to live for nothing.

Just a data point for you. I have a similar size mill with 1/4 hp. servos and 2:1 reduction to the ball screws. plenty of torque. i did use steppers on this mill for a while and had trouble with missed steps.

Karl

Go for 400W servos for starters with some reduction since you are cutting steel (not high speed requirements).
    Current build: http://www.cnczone.com/forums/diy-cnc-router-table-machines/264838-new-machine-desing-quot-cnm13-quot.html

Quote Originally Posted by Karl_T View Post
    Just a data point for you. I have a similar size mill with 1/4 hp. servos and 2:1 reduction to the ball screws. plenty of torque. i did use steppers on this mill for a while and had trouble with missed steps.

Karl
    Hmm,
    What do you think about this?
    SAMSUNG 200W SERVO PACK,DRIVER MOTOR 3-AXIS CNC,ROUTER | eBay