547,633 active members*
3,613 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    25

    EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hello,

    I have a wire cutting machine (FANUC TAPE CUT MODEL I, MATRA: 945 Series: 6m system).

    The machine was purchased a long time ago in Germany, with no technical documentation supported.

    The machine was working great for many years without experiencing any big issues. Now, I have a problem that I am not able to fix.

    Here is the scenario:

    - When the machine is in auto mode, the working table doesn’t move.

    - When I say auto mode, I set a switch from JOG to MEMORY mode, enable all conditions (wire, tension, power, water), and press the START connector. After pressing START connectors on the screen the working desk is not moving and the positions of the X and Y axis are not moving as well.

    - Also, I am not able to send the machine in a reference point in auto mode, in manual yes.

    When I run the machine in the Manual mode, “set switch to JOG” – I am able to move the working desk. X and Y coordinates are working.

    Any information would be very useful.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi,

    I have similar machine (W2). I had similar problem.
    Possible solution:
    The machine have addition safty switches: workspace cover and cover of cabin of waste wire .
    I have similar machine (W2). I had similar problem.
    I can take pictures if you don't find.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi,

    Thank you for your reply. I am looking at it but the only switch I see is for changing parameters.

    Do you mind to take a picture please, it may solve my problem too.

    Thanks in advance,
    Dzenad

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Dzenad!

    I don't know your type exactly (Type: L ???), but I think this failure or situation is same as. Missing enable signal from something status switch. Plexi cover!!!!
    As I mentioned: my W2 has waste bin of used wire with cover with switched monitoring. I hate the cover, therefor I hacked the sensor-switch. I glued it down. I attaching a pictures with red circle where are switches. I am not near the mahine, I haven't got better photo.

    So, I have another machine, it is Fanuc T3 without cover and door but it is running. You can change the parameter of machine according to deactivate switch monitoring.
    Tomorrow I study for it.

    Best regards, Elek.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Elek,

    Thank you for the image. Unfortunately, I am not able to find the switch. I don't have machine documentation as well and not able to find what parameter to change.

    Please check the link where I uploaded few images. https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...ZC?usp=sharing


    On the machine, there is a stamp Fanuc Matra Tape Cut model I. I guess It is the first model of this kind. After you see images, maybe you can navigate me. I think we have the same problems.

    If the machine is moving in Manual mode, by pressing X and Y connectors I think electrical motors are in function. What is your opinion?

    Regards,

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Dzenad,
    sorry for late answer.
    Yes I think, too. The cutting process wait for something enable signal. I showed by red circle in your picture: these are the buttons (cover switch). You have to sure it is short-close and all other (if you find). Unfortunately, you need disassembly (unscrew the plates). I look the machine is without cover, therefore I think somebody make the short circuit earlier. Maybe it is released (open).
    Sorry, I didn't study the parameters, yet.
    Elek

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Dzenad,

    I compared the parameters of my machines. I have machine book to all together (Fanuc W2 and T3). I dont know, what mean are the below parameters (in the machine book not mention), but these are different. Please, try the change step by step.

    P0023: 10000000
    P0024: 01000010

    I wait for feedback.

    Good luck!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Elek, thanks a lot for the instructions.

    Unfortunately, we are not able to solve the issue. I was checking those parameters as well but no luck

    It is very unusual, as the machine table is moving in manual mode. When in automatic mode, it stops without any warning or error being displayed.

    Is there anything else you have in mind I can try?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Dzenad,

    if you are in the "auto-mode": can you run program and moving by "dry-run"?

    Elek

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    25

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Elek,

    When the machine is in Auto mode, I cannot run the program with DRY RUN. When I enter that process, after clicking START, the machine just doesn't move the table.

    In Manual mode, when the switch is in JOG mode I can move the table manually by pressing the X and Y axis.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    Hi Dzenad,

    this is bad news.
    I have no idea now, I am consulting with colleagues (Fanuc fans) in Hungary (whom I know).

    Rtegards, Elek.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    9

    Re: EDM machine - working table doesnt move

    I tested my W2 machine: it is with switch (cover) controlled. Mean is: if I want to start cutting without cover the machine dosen't move. At the paralell I want to start by dry-run (and without cover), then the machine moving. It is a big different on your situation!
    Unfortunately I haven't got any idea for issue.
    If you want I can scann my parameter from book but it is different for your machine....

Similar Threads

  1. cnc plasma control XPTHC-4 torch doesnt move
    By shakibdriss in forum General CNC Plasma / Oxy Fuel Cutting Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-23-2017, 07:42 PM
  2. Upgraded to Corel X8 ,yet machine SW doesnt support it
    By TSHobbies in forum Laser Control Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2016, 03:07 PM
  3. Machine doesnt pause for spindle to stop
    By Lomach in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-30-2012, 09:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •