588,535 active members*
4,558 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Engineer's Surface Plate - float glass?

Hi

I think I have used the right term.

I have purchased an engineer's precision square and want to ensure that the plate that I stand the item I am measuring is flat.

I checked with my local Engineer's tools supplier and the standard plate is made from granite or cast iron and is ground flat to a high level of precision. Unfortunately they are also very expensive and start at $300 +.

I was thinking that float glass my be a cost effective solution but I do not know how flat is flat when it comes to it.

Can any engineer tell me if a piece of 10mm thick float glass at 500mm by 500mm will give me a cheap practical alternative.

I am just starting out in model engineering and I want to improve my quality as much as possible but also don't want to bankrupt myself in the process.

Thanks

Andy
    Drat, imperfection has finally stopped working!!

The 10mm glass you mentioned is too thin and will flex. A typical 500mm x 500mm granite plate has similar elastic properties to glass and is 6-8 times as thick, making them 100-500 times as stiff.

I don't know much about glass plates or even surface plates in general, but there is some interesting info in the ongoing polymer concrete discussion about epoxy surface plates, which are cheap and really frighteningly accurate.
    Its kind of odd I know, but if you want a good base to make them on, you can get large, flat polished granite slabs really cheap or free if you look at a stonecutters, as there are a decent number of second hand tombstones that suffered the "Y2K" problem that no one has any practical use for.

Hi Andy, you could always glue 3 or four pieces of 1/4" plate glass together and box them in a frame.
    Only trouble with glass is it doesn't hold blue very well.