535,272 active members*
3,911 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Extrude Font

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    173

    Extrude Font

    I'm trying to extrude a true type font but ending up with skin wall or facets instead of solid. Some fonts are solid and some are not.
    What causes that?

    also The fonts have many lines or facets and when I extrude the ones that work the computer slows to a snail.

    Appreciate your help

    Rob

  2. #2

    Re: Extrude Font

    I work only in V20 and V23?

    Off the top of my head I would take the type, smash it or whatever BobCAD calls it to turn it into line work vectors. (Sort of like Extract Edges for solids. That or use BobART) then chain select the outline of the type, and go to Create Planner surface, then go back again and Extrude Surface.

    Not at my shop computer so going from memory. Old memory.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    173

    Re: Extrude Font

    So far its working for few letters. The one with the problem fails planar. I'll work on it. Thanks for the direction

    Rob

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    822

    Re: Extrude Font

    ...skin it? interesting subject (topic)

  5. #5

    Re: Extrude Font

    Quote Originally Posted by artracing View Post
    So far its working for few letters. The one with the problem fails planar. I'll work on it. Thanks for the direction

    Rob
    Make sure your letter outline can be fully selected in a single chain selection. (Hold SHIFT and click) If it can't, do whatever needs to be done to the chain to correct that. Also say with like a capital A. Click the outer outline with the direction arrows going one direction and the inner outline going in the opposite direction. (Two total shift clicks) Not sure what version you're in but this is old version methods. One point here being you have to have legitimate chains without gaps or other mixed in garbage. The other is combined chains need to be selected in opposite directions.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    173

    Re: Extrude Font

    Quote Originally Posted by the_gentlegiant View Post
    Make sure your letter outline can be fully selected in a single chain selection. (Hold SHIFT and click) If it can't, do whatever needs to be done to the chain to correct that. Also say with like a capital A. Click the outer outline with the direction arrows going one direction and the inner outline going in the opposite direction. (Two total shift clicks) Not sure what version you're in but this is old version methods. One point here being you have to have legitimate chains without gaps or other mixed in garbage. The other is combined chains need to be selected in opposite directions.
    Yes, I have one font that has issues but its many sub lines. Been trying to clean it up as you said. So far the planar solution is working.

    The next problem is my laptop as slowed to a crawl with all the extrude letters.

    Are there some initial setup for computer for 3D. I have not done a lot of 3D. I did have the same problem number years ago and
    Bobcad support came in and did something,
    I try to keeps solids off but at times you need it on to see.
    Its at a point now its almost impossible to move the image.

    Rob

  7. #7
    Ghost
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4511

    Re: Extrude Font

    Quote Originally Posted by artracing View Post
    Yes, I have one font that has issues but its many sub lines. Been trying to clean it up as you said. So far the planar solution is working.

    The next problem is my laptop as slowed to a crawl with all the extrude letters.

    Are there some initial setup for computer for 3D. I have not done a lot of 3D. I did have the same problem number years ago and
    Bobcad support came in and did something,
    I try to keeps solids off but at times you need it on to see.
    Its at a point now its almost impossible to move the image.

    Rob
    Fonts can be bad geometry because they come from vector drawing and the definitions aren't for accuracy...

    The slowdown will come from all those faces extruded piling up, as opposed to a smaller number of faces.

    The key will be to rebuild it after some initial cleanup.

    What version are you using. The newer versions have some rebuild stuff built into the spline commands. I have to revisit it with you. I don't have the older versions anymore...

    What you're looking for is all the seam edges to be gone when you extrude the text geometry (Except for WANTED hard edges)

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    173

    Re: Extrude Font

    Quote Originally Posted by BurrMan View Post
    Fonts can be bad geometry because they come from vector drawing and the definitions aren't for accuracy...

    The slowdown will come from all those faces extruded piling up, as opposed to a smaller number of faces.

    The key will be to rebuild it after some initial cleanup.

    What version are you using. The newer versions have some rebuild stuff built into the spline commands. I have to revisit it with you. I don't have the older versions anymore...

    What you're looking for is all the seam edges to be gone when you extrude the text geometry (Except for WANTED hard edges)
    I figured as much. I exported the file as DXF and then brought that in. See to help clean up some letters. A few are a mess.
    I have version 32. But i don't have knowledge of how to rebuild. Im long time Newbie.

    Rob

  9. #9
    Ghost
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4511

    Re: Extrude Font

    Quote Originally Posted by artracing View Post
    I figured as much. I exported the file as DXF and then brought that in. See to help clean up some letters. A few are a mess.
    I have version 32. But i don't have knowledge of how to rebuild. Im long time Newbie.

    Rob
    I have v32 also!

    The dxf export could also be a place for you to look. To see if it can create "splines and curves and arcs" in the export, as opposed to faceted "line segments". We'll look at the originating software, after we see if we can fix it up in BobCad..

    I'll make a video in a bit....

  10. #10
    Ghost
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4511

    Re: Extrude Font

    Here is a video where I bring in a faceted arc and show how it extrudes into 40, seperate surfaces. Which will start to make the display heavy. (And any other things you want to start doing with it)

    I rebuild it with the spline fitted command..

    https://youtu.be/hRLz6n-pwuw

    You can look at your fonts and rebuild as needed

    Lets discuss the origination of the faceted geometry.. Maybe we can fix up that part....

  11. #11
    Ghost
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4511
    As an added note, the comments by the_gentlegiant are very good and where the process start. Chain selection will point out the open gaps and should be done first, before the rebuild....

    He seems old school, so i can point out that the "opposing direction chain selection" is not needed anymore... just a heads up...

Similar Threads

  1. Extrude a cut?
    By phil m in forum Rhino 3D
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-23-2013, 11:25 AM
  2. Extrude cut
    By mrsammy in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-17-2011, 11:50 AM
  3. Can't extrude.
    By 7yler in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-03-2010, 12:16 AM
  4. how to extrude
    By gits in forum Solidworks
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 06:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •