504,353 active members
4,077 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Fanuc > Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120

    Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    Hi guys,

    i've got this fanuc 6m-b okuma and i bought a dnc server to plug it instead of the computer cable

    can someone tell me how to i setup the tools and calibrate them.

    i've got like 8 tools and i would like to set them up and calibrate them so that way when i do my CAM the machine can pick it up automatically

    do i have to take the caliper and measure every tools ? and like how those it work ? is there like a auto-detect ?

    or do i just do my CAM and set library there and hope for the best ? like some of those might be shorter in length or do i use and offset ?

    thanks for the help and advice.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    so i found this maybe it will provide some help on how to setup tooling on fanuc 6m

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U99asuDT97I

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?


  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    230

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    Quote Originally Posted by k-linkz View Post
    This video demonstrates how much easier it is to set up a Fadal vs Fanuc controlled machines. Is there a similar process that I am missing? I haven't run a Fanuc mill in almost 20 years.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fadal Error View Post
    This video demonstrates how much easier it is to set up a Fadal vs Fanuc controlled machines. Is there a similar process that I am missing? I haven't run a Fanuc mill in almost 20 years.
    maybe if you add a DNC server like this. but that pretty much what i found.

    From my understanding , you load the G-code and than you do an work offset on axes XYZ . from the machine origin to the part you want to work.

    maybe someone can explain it better.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Avi3JBWiH0

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    230

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    I'm looking for an easier way to set tool length offsets. Right now I jog to zero on the zero setter and memorize the number, then switch to the offset screen. I even have to type in a cancellation number for the old TLO first. For example If it reads -10.000, I have to type 10.0 to get the offset to zero. Then I can enter the number that I jogged to.

    On Fadals you jog to zero on the zero setter and hit the function that stores that number into the TLO for the tool that is in the spindle automatically.

    Another thing that annoys me is the the tool offset screen doesn't show the tool diameter, so I have to go around to the side of the machine and figure out what tools I have loaded in the carousel.

    Surely there is a better way.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    120

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Fadal Error View Post
    I'm looking for an easier way to set tool length offsets. Right now I jog to zero on the zero setter and memorize the number, then switch to the offset screen. I even have to type in a cancellation number for the old TLO first. For example If it reads -10.000, I have to type 10.0 to get the offset to zero. Then I can enter the number that I jogged to.

    On Fadals you jog to zero on the zero setter and hit the function that stores that number into the TLO for the tool that is in the spindle automatically.

    Another thing that annoys me is the the tool offset screen doesn't show the tool diameter, so I have to go around to the side of the machine and figure out what tools I have loaded in the carousel.

    Surely there is a better way.
    Not sure if it would work, but wouldn't be easier to load your tools specs in a library in the CAD/CAM software and once they are loaded all you have to do is set the zero offset and run the program ?

    also found this post maybe it will help

    https://www.cnczone.com/forums/fanuc...t-problem.html

    cheers

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    230

    Re: Fanuc 6m how to setup/config tools procedure ?

    Quote Originally Posted by k-linkz View Post
    Not sure if it would work, but wouldn't be easier to load your tools specs in a library in the CAD/CAM software and once they are loaded all you have to do is set the zero offset and run the program ?

    also found this post maybe it will help

    https://www.cnczone.com/forums/fanuc...t-problem.html

    cheers
    I'm programming for 5 machines from one computer. I want to know what tool is in each slot of the carousel. It's easy to figure it out in Fadals UI. You can see the diameters of each tool in the tool offset screen. I have a few standard tools that are almost always loaded in slots 1-5 on each machine. Then I have constantly changing tools for each job, including various drill sizes.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-21-2015, 12:00 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2015, 09:32 PM
  3. Fanuc 21t Tooling Setup Procedure for 2axis lathe
    By TZak in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 12:54 AM
  4. Mazatrol T1 Setup Procedure
    By mattme in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 07:24 AM
  5. DeskCNC and setup/config
    By maycom in forum Carken Products (Deskam, DeskCNC etc)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 08:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •