587,997 active members*
1,948 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Solidworks > going totally insane - cannot position or dimension holes!

going totally insane - cannot position or dimension holes!

ALERT: I'm a newbie at solidworks. Perhaps I'm a moron.

In fact, I must be a moron, because I cannot even get a $4500 piece of trashware to do one of the most basic things possible... position a freaking hole on an extruded plate. I've watched video tutorials of this being done, and it sure doesn't work for me. All I can imagine is, the tutorials are with slightly older version of solidworks than the 2010 version. But I've spent freaking hours and hours and hours trying to dimension or smart-dimension these holes to place them where they need to be, and I've started over and over and over and created new parts dozens of times. I cannot believe a supposedly "intuitive" piece of software can be this impossible to accomplish the most trivial task! So, "it must be me", but "it can't be me" and "it can't be this difficult".

I attach the last iteration in attached file "hole.zip". I placed 8 holes, but I cannot dimension them or smart dimension them. In most cases it hides the little dots or stars in the center of the hole that I need to dimension to. When it doesn't I still can't do what I need, and right-clicking pops up a menu without any kind of "dimension" option (which is otherwise usually available).

I'm fried. I'm going to give up on solidworks if I can't do something this simple. Please, someone, explain what I'm doing wrong. This is just completely insane like TwilightZone! Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Well you have me confused.

Took me less than 3 minutes (including download, unzip, open SW, add dims, screen capture and repost).

- Right click sketch3 under CBORE
    - select edit sketch
    - initiate smart dim
    - add dimensions/relations to the points
    - done

What is it doing for you