587,997 active members*
1,881 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Thread: Gold Chrome?

Gold Chrome?

Is there any plating like chrome I can put on Alum parts to make them look like Gold chrome and stay as nice as chrome and last as long.

These guys would be a good contact for you.

http://www.caswellplating.com/kits/gldbrshsys.html

plating on aluminum

I am not sure if aluminum can be plated.

Typically anodising is the method of choice for aluminum finishing.

Can you anodising alum and make it look gold in color?

I would look it up on line but I believe you may be able to get something close. It will be matt obviosly as it iis an etching as opposed to a build up of a specific material such as gold which has its own properties.

A friend of mine is a knife maker and the liners of his knives are titanium anodised. I believe different colors are achieved by different voltages..

I am not an expert but if I were you I would do some more research to rule out plating and what colors a professional anodiser can achieve

Powdercoat! Variety of colors and finish available. Did our spinaker pole and it looked great in gunmetal high gloss. Gold would have been too over the top. But I bet you could find gold - did find and have high gloss brass finish done too.
    :cheers: Jim
    Experience is the BEST Teacher. Is that why it usually arrives in a shower of sparks, flash of light, loud bang, a cloud of smoke, AND -- a BILL to pay? You usually get it -- just after you need it.

(Q) .. Why is aluminum so difficult to plate?