587,977 active members*
4,239 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Haas Lathe Questions - Lots

I'm new to HAAS, Just entering the market and would like some basic questions answered. I use a VFE and feel comfortable with the mill control but I'm very inexperienced with lathes.... whole other world.

Whats the basic difference between the GT and SL series lathes? I see base price and no tailstock option on the GT. 8 vs 12 station turret?

I need a general purpose lathe almost all one-offs.... very occasionally short runs and I am leaning towards a toolroom TL-1. How well will this machine work with the optional 4 station turret and can you just leave the turret on for general use? Is it a fully auto turret? For the same money I could get a top of the line manual quick change with lots of holders.... Does it have full threading capabilities?

What are the problems/limitations of a toolroom vs. a "full cnc" enclosed lathe?

Does anyone know anything about the new HLV toolroom lathe and what the starting price is? Saw an ad in the latest MANF. magazine and this lathe looks really attractive for what I want to do, but can't find any info. 95% of my need is small o.d. prefer 5C collets. Right now I get everything I need out of a S.B. heavy 10 with DRO.

Would like to stay under 25K is this possible?

Thanks for advice.... Joe V.

Quote Originally Posted by 1ctoolfool
    What are the problems/limitations of a toolroom vs. a "full cnc" enclosed lathe?
    Enclosed lathe can have lots of coolant on part. Longer tool life. More precision with cooler parts.
    Wayne Hill

My two cents