587,089 active members*
3,002 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > Having issues with my TTS & Power Drawbar

Having issues with my TTS & Power Drawbar

Hi guys,

I've been trying to work though some tutorials on setting up my tool table and ran across a problem with my TTS/Power Drawbar setup. Being a total newbie, I though I'd try to get some thoughts on what I might be doing wrong.

I starting off setting the tool height of my Heimer 3D probe using the mill table as a reference. To verify the length I tried to measure the distance from the table to the spindle face using my Edge Technologies tool setter and realized that something was off( about 0.015" ). It took a while (as I am new to this) to realize that my TTS tools were not sitting flush again the spindle face. Looking at the manual, I figured things were installed incorrectly so I went about checking things.

I opened my spindle cabinet and went to loosen the drawbar bolt but realized that the screw was already very loose (issue #1). So, following the setup instructions again (a video online by NYCCNC), I went about tightening the whole thing down again. (about 2 full turns with a TTS tool in the collet). When I did this and reinstalled the power drawbar unit, I realized that it wasn't able to eject the tool (issue #2). So it took a while but I realized that the factory installed air lines on my cylinders seemed to differ from all the photos I've seen.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2072_sm.jpg 
Views:	64 
Size:	118.4 KB 
ID:	147077