587,827 active members*
2,979 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > Heat treating question...

Heat treating question...

Hi Guys,

I am going to be making a small spindle for a tiny machine. I planning on using a scaled down version of an R8 collet but the top portion will be different - much different. Either way, that part doesn't matter much relative to what I am trying to figure out.

This collet will be about 3 inches long and about 3/8" in diameter. I would like to heat treat it so that it lasts for a while (till I come up with something better). I have plenty of machining experience, but about zero heat treating experience. I don't even have much in the form of anything to do heat treating.

I have a propane torch (kind used for plumbing & soldering). I can get some fire bricks to make a small enclosed area to contain the heat. I know that small, long pieces like this can also turn into funny shapes after heat treating.

Can anyone suggests a good material choice for this, and if you don't mind, a method of heat treating it based on what I have here in the home shop?

Thanks a bunch!

Chris

4140HT would be an excellent material to use for this application but I am uncertain of the exact procedure for oil quenching. I don't think the propane is going to get you enough heat unless you introduce some oxygen - like in a kiln arrangement. Is that what you are proposing?

Most of my experience with heat treating this material is carbon Nitriding and that was left up to the heat treating department. I am positive Google would yield substantial results on methods and specifics.

Scott
    Consistency is a good thing....unless you're consistently an idiot.